We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty breakfast, awfull noise insulation”
Review of Hotel des Princes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Princes
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty breakfast, awfull noise insulation”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Good spot 10 mins from Orangerie; near a nice italian restaurant, good student flammkuchen place and a terrible Chinese restaurant. Perfect breakfasts and alas, toilet flushing that can wake you up at night, so hope for quiet neighbours and do close the doors to the bathroom at night.
have fun

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindoza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    154
    24
    6
    0
See reviews for
34
142
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel from dec 23rd to 24th.

The staff lady welcomed us so kindly and helped us so much to know the town, restaurants, and etc...

Hotel was really clean.



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank workinghard32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting our daughter who was studying at the nearby EM Strasbourg School of Management. We reserved a superior room. We arrived late in the evening and I was concerned that we would have a problem, but was very pleased as we were greeted promptly and the reservation was quickly recognized and the room was ready. Furthermore, the reservation clerk greeted us warmly and realizing we spoke little French and spoke English, quickly began to speak to us in English. The room was very clean and fairly large for a room in France. I did have trouble connecting to the wireless, but I called the front desk and received immediate and courteous help to connect. We did not use the hotel much except for sleeping, but I would definitely stay here again because of the courteous service, clean, large room and quiet location. Also this was a good deal, the price per night was less than many of the other hotels we considered.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank awarrencelata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here while visting family in the same neighbourhood. The location is in the embassy quarter, very peaceful whether you have a room at the front or the back. About a 25 minute walk into the city centre.
The room was spotlessly clean and a decent size though minimally furnished. Sound insulation with neighbouring rooms was poor, so we heard our neighbour skypeing with his family.
The bathroom was very disappointing - a bath with a hand-held shower but nowhere to hook it on to and no shower curtain or panel. I've got fed up with hotels like this that can't be bothered spending a few Euros and so the bathroom floor got flooded every morning.
Breakfast was fine, in a pleasant room overlooking the back, but I found it rather pricey (13 EUR).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Other than having an incredibly hard time finding the actual street using our GPS, we thought it was a nice hotel. It is so well hidden on the street that you can hardly tell it is a hotel. It's a beautiful neighborhood. The only complaint might be that it is far from the center of the city, but we just walked on in. There is a tram, but since we were only there for one night, we didn't bother to figure out how to use it. The room was the most modern we stayed in on this trip, butt it was cozy enough. The bathroom was larger than most and the breakfast room was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beisenbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room I was assigned was of poor quality. It smelled like dust -- I ended up with a sore throat in the morning. The walls need painting, the furniture is very old and ramshackle. The socket next to the bed is old and broken -- it does not work.
The bathroom was a bad surprise: very old wall tiles, somewhat broken, and a bath tube with no shower protection. The floor was in strong contrast to the wall, but still in old tiles.
The view from the window is a poor internal courtyard.

I let the hotel staff know that I was not happy with the room. As a consequence, I obtained a renovated room for my second night. This second room was good, although the path to the room was of poor value. They also offered me a free breakfast for the second day of my stay. I anyway expected something better for a breakfast that is normally priced 14 euros.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Greta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My room (43) overlooked a garden at the back and was exceptionally quiet. Very clean with a good sized comfortable double bed. Decent sized bathroom – pity there was no hook for the hand-held shower so you could not stand under it, only hold it with one hand as you washed.
Free WiFi worked well and a decent sized desk for working, but it needed extra sockets beside the desk for laptop/phone charging.
Generous breakfast with very fresh bread and pastries all enthusiastically served in a pleasant room overlooking the small garden. There is a boulangerie nearby too if you prefer to organise your own breakfast.
NB there is no restaurant in the hotel, but the pleasant staff will point you to at least one that is less than a block away.
An easy (and pleasant) 20 minute walk to the various Council of Europe buildings.

Room Tip: Mine (43) overlooked the garden. Some may overlook the street, but the street is in any case quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel Villa d'Est
#8 of 127 in Strasbourg
542 reviews
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 127 in Strasbourg
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Ouest
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
Best Western Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 127 in Strasbourg
774 reviews
Hotel D
#3 of 127 in Strasbourg
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Princes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Princes

Property: Hotel des Princes
Address: 33 rue Geiler, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Princes 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “Hotel des Princes” offers a quiet location in the heart of Strasbourg nearby the tourist and cultural attractions. It is located in a street where the most beautiful architectural facades of Strasbourg can be found. Its location in the heart of the embassy district ensures your well being during your stay. A few minutes walk from the docks, you can easily discover Strasbourg and the famous “Petite France”, a picturesque and typical part from the city center. The hotel is open 24h/24h. Room-service is proposed all day. A wireless connection is available free of charge. The “Hotel des Princes” located 3km from the train station, is accessible by bus or tram and 25 minutes from the airport by car. Paid parking in the steets around the hotel, 1€ for 3 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Princes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing