We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice folks, simple but lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Ill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Ill
Ranked #63 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice folks, simple but lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed there for two nights in November 2013. Other than a hassle with the wifi (the signal was weak in our room at the end of the hall), which I find all too typical in French hotels, everything else about the place ranged from very good to perfectly charming. The brother/sister team who run the place are friendly, humble, accommodating, and unpretentious, as is the vibe of the whole place. The location is very convenient, very quiet at night but a short walk from the center of town or the big university and with the lively student district nearby. The room was typically small (this is France), but impeccably clean and nicely appointed, comfortable bed, renovated bathroom, AC if you're there in hot weather (we weren't), and a very good if basic breakfast service. The price is very low for the well-rounded quality of the experience. Mostly, the staff are just super nice and helpful, not an ounce snootiness (after four days in Paris, this came as a huge relief). Highly recommended for basic and inexpensive accommodations in Strasbourg.

Would definitely stay there happily again. My only recommendation is that they get a better wifi router, but I had an unusual business need for it, and they were very accommodating with a solution to the problem (loaning me an ethernet cable and not charging me to plug directly into the network with my laptop). I think it was just because our room was at the very end of the hallway and far from the wifi router.

Basic, but excellent for what it claims to be, which is a clean, friendly, safe, quiet, and inexpensive home base in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
30
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just across the river from the cathedral area and tour boats. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable. Just a simple walk to all good areas like the tour boat docks and cathedral. Coin laundry very close. The breakfast was convenient and typical for the price range. There is a school behind the hotel so there will be some noise from children during school hours/days. The hotel is on the opposite side of the city from the train station but we rolled our bags in about 30 min. A taxi would do it in 5 minutes and the bus stops right at the corner. Clean, comfortable and romantic. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a school behind so don't select school side if you are concerned about playground noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I arrived to find that my booking had been "lost". The owner showed me a small room in the courtyard which I took for want of an alternative. The room (Room 1) was clean but basic with poor lighting, little natural light and a reasonably comfortable bed. The shower room was just adequate. Breakfast was OK but again the choice was limited. Location is excellent - just across the river from the Cathedral and main museums.

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room is super clean and with all comforts. The staff is really really nice and the location is perfect to visit the city center. Excellent! I want to go back soon and next time we'll try also the breakfast :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel August 2012. My family and I had not booked a place in advance so we were worried when all the budget chain hotels told us they were booked. The owner, Patrick, was awesome and showed us our room before we decided to stay! It was very cheap, the breakfast was great and was in a fantastic location. Staff also gave us great recommendations for dinner! Loved this place and have recommended to others.

Room Tip: If you ask, they show you rooms before you book to make sure you like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in this small, comfortable hotel in 2012. the hotel is located on a quiet side street just across the canal,away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area. We took Bus 10 from the train station to a stop one block from the hotel. A tram stop also is several blocks away and the walk to the train station takes about 20 minutes.

During our five day stay, all of the staff at the front desk were pleasant and very helpful. On arrival we received a map and plenty of suggestions about places to visit in the city. We were given good suggestions for restaurants and the location of a self-service laundry.

Our reservation indicated that we had a small room, and it was. But the room was neat and clean, with open cabinets for hanging clothes and also shelves. The bed was comfortable. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet ( both day and night). We had a restful sleep with open windows.

The only negative we advise about is the size of the bathroom in a small room. In this small room, the bathroom is equally small and might be an uncomfortable fit for a large person. However, the bathroom was spotlessly clean, had modern facilities, and had adequate light.

Breakfast was an adequate buffet ... better than many other small inns places we have visited in France. The buffet had cereals, some fresh fruit, cheese and meats, and the usual breakfast drinks. In addition, a basket of two croissants and two bread rolls were delivered to our table with coffee and tea.

Adjacent to the breakfast area was a lounge area with a television and several comfortable chairs. The lounge area also had a computer with Internet access and posted charges for its use.

We found this hotel to be well maintained, clean, and comfortable. The hotel staff and owner are very friendly, helpful, and concerned about the comfort of their guests. We were informed in advance of the size of our room when we made our late reservation and that was not a negative for us because we primarily use it only for sleeping. We did notice the hotel has larger rooms with larger bathrooms. We would happily return to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were informed in advance of the size of our room when we made our late reservation and that was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is easily reached by bus from the train station or a short walk from the tram. The main part of Strasbourg is a short walk away. The place is clean and comfortable and even has allergenic rooms available. Great value!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Krutenau Nord Ouest
Hotel Roses
Hotel Roses
#55 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#58 of 130 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
ETC Hotel
ETC Hotel
#62 of 130 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Mairie Sud
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#94 of 130 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Hotel Patricia
#80 of 130 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ill

Property: Hotel de l'Ill
Address: 8 rue des Bateliers, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Krutenau Nord Ouest
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Ill 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family hotel in the heart of Strasbourg with 27 rooms all equipped (TV / WiFi / private bathroom with shower and hairdryer). Some rooms have air conditioning andothers have a terrace and a bath. All guests have access to a small private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel de l'Ill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ill
De l Ill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing