We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "family" hotel, well located”
Review of Hotel de l'Ill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Ill
Ranked #72 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

2 nights in this hotel based on tripadvisors feed backs.
The hotel is very closed from the historical center of Strasbourg (only the river to cross).
Parking is not so easy, but the Bateliers parking is located 5 mn by feet from the hotel and is not too expensive. Anyway, you will not need a car to visit Strasbourg from the hotel.
Breakfast is pretty basic but OK ... some nice bakeries in the neighbourhood.
Reasonable price for the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My room was on the 3rd floor, a single. Very clean, small, but comfortable, with a double bed, great shower. No elevators. Terrific location, 3 minutes walk from Strasbourg Cathedral. Very friendly and helpful staff, gave us a great restaurant recommendation and lent us umbrellas on a rainy night. Room had tv and wireless. Breakfast was not so great, though plentiful--cereals, yoghurt, bread, juices, so-so croissants, so-so coffee. For our second day we went elsewhere for breakfast. Overall a good value for the price!

Room Tip: Wireless doesn't extend to the 3rd floor, so if that's important, either walk down to the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjones707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We chanced upon Hotel de l'Ill via another hotel which was booked for our days of stay in December 2010 just after Christmas. We were lucky to find a double room for 3 of us at such short notice.

The hotel is located wonderfully close to the main tourist points in Strasbourg; The Notre Dame Cathedral, Petite France and the main squares- Place de la Republique, Place Kleber, Place Gutenburg especially since all the Christmas Markets were around these places.

The staff is really helpful and gave us wonderful recommendations for must-see places and must-eat dinner places. They also pay great attention to detail; we were pleasantly surprised by a welcome note and welcome cookies upon our arrival and the exact directions on the site to reach the hotel.

The pricing was also most appropriate for the about-peak season considering it took us about calls to 15 hotels before we chanced upon this one.

One point that could be improved was the temperature setting in the room regarding the heater, which got a bit cold one night.

But overall, I'd rate this hotel 8/10 and I sure am looking forward to staying there in summer as well!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita_Visvanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Clean comfy. Staff was very friendly and helpful, Ask for room 8 for the large balcony overlooking a church's courtyard.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank JeffGip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hotel is 5 minute walk to cathedral, 20 minutes to Petite France. The day and night clerk were both extremely helpful and friendly and spoke English. Rooms are small, ours had a t.v., was clean and cute. No elevator, but not a problem for us. The night-time clerk made a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant (called the Preaching Fox in English). It was a block away and a very good value. We had a full meal for about $18 Euro each. They food was excellent and the service fast - the place was packed, so glad she called for us. They held our luggage all day on check out day, no problem. We found street parking for free very close as we were there on a weekend. Apparently, there is a fee during the week. Staff also directed us to a lovely bakery for breakfast, although they do offer it in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3momstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

The rooms were extremely small, but clean and well equipped. The location is excellent, very close to the historic center. There is an underground garade a block away and plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Benedette (?) the host was very helpful and welcoming. She truly opened the charm of Strasbourg for us.
Cosy, not pretentious place at the center of everything.

Serge
Philadelphia

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Egres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We had just stayed in Colmar at the La Maison de Tetes so this hotel was a let down. Strasbourg is more expensive than Colmar and we were trying to stay around $100 a night. For that price the Hotel de I'll was not bad.
We could not park close by and were directed to an undeground garage about 6 blocks away. At first we were grumpy but it was a safe and interesting neighborhood because it was not touristy. The catherdral is across the river from the hotel so it was easy to walk everywhere. The room was clean, the front desk very nice but this was not our favorite spot on our journey through Alsace Lorraine.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Krutenau Nord Ouest
Hotel Roses
Hotel Roses
#36 of 130 in Strasbourg
195 reviews
Adonis Hotel Strasbourg
#78 of 130 in Strasbourg
166 reviews
Esplanade Hotel
#105 of 130 in Strasbourg
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qualys-Hotel des Princes
#28 of 130 in Strasbourg
302 reviews
Hotel du Dragon
#51 of 130 in Strasbourg
491 reviews
Hotel Patricia
#74 of 130 in Strasbourg
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ill

Address: 8 rue des Bateliers, 67000, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Krutenau Nord Ouest
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range: $93 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Ill 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family hotel in the heart of Strasbourg with 27 rooms all equipped (TV / WiFi / private bathroom with shower and hairdryer). Some rooms have air conditioning andothers have a terrace and a bath. All guests have access to a small private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Ill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ill
De l Ill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing