We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely market”

Christmas Market (Christkindelsmarik)
Ranked #17 of 162 things to do in Strasbourg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This German-style Christmas Market specializes in hand-made decorations and Christmas designs.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely market”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

located in my home town . It hasn't changed for years . it's really nice to walk in the market. Maybe a lot of items are made in china but there is always a relation with christmas. You can also eat some "pomme d'amour - apple of love " or some gauffres with a glue wine (white or red ). Yes it's many time overcrowded in the weekend but here you feel something different . You can also go the markets Kaysersberg or Riquewhir

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fredbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    112
    59
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nice market very crowded and overrated”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is supposed to bee on of the best Christmas market all around Europe.
My opinion is actually different.
Having been there i could say that this market adds a nice colour to the city and it transforms it to something different. It gives it life.
But, i think that there are excessively too many tourists coming to admire this event, making the life for the habitats of the city and of those, among the tourists that do not like overcrowded places, very difficult.
Also, the majority of stuff which you may buy in the market is rather expensive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ster Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For the best markets, find un petit village”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Last year we went to the market in Strasbourg as well as some in the villages scattered around Alsace, and after our trips I would highly recommend making it to a village. My friends from Alsace complain that the markets in Strasbourg are flooded with ornaments made in China, not really the authentic French experience you might be looking for. We loved Kaysersberg and Riquewihr, although they can get a little crowded, we got some small handmade ornaments that our families loved. Kaysersberg was my favorite since you can walk to castle ruins right above the village and we had a lovely snowy vineyard view of the town / valley area. I also liked the mulled wine (vin chaud) much better in the villages. There are shuttles that leave from the Colmar and Sélestat train stations if you are going without a car, about 4 euros for a day pass on the shuttles, easy to get around, just make sure you know what time the last ones leave so you aren't stranded (cabs are expensive, sad first hand experience).

The trip from Strasbourg - Selestat - Riquewihr is about 45 minutes on public transport (train to bus/shuttle) and would cost about 20 euros / person round trip. It's 8.50 euros ea/ way to Sélestat from Strasbourg and 12.50 or so to Colmar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank SneakyCreekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful city market”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The trip from Paris to Strasbourg by train was a treat and easy trip. The city of Strasbourg is really not to be missed and to me the market was the "icing on the cake". We arrived and made the short and easy walk to our hotel and then headed the market which was another easy walk among clean and festive streets. The area of town "old town" was historically interesting and with the Christmas decorations was made even better. The real treat came the next morning when we discovered it had snowed overnight. The area was transformed from great to AWSOME, if you are into photos DO NOT MISS this town dressed in snow. The market is spread out along many streets so it was never too crowded and we enjoyed shopping and taking in the whole feeling. One thing to remember, if you are an American and eat your dinner early be prepared to wait till much later...we opted for subway and early bed instead of waiting up just to eat dinner out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smartypants5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,311 reviews
638 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Good markets in France”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

There are several markets scattered about the city. While it was one of our most fun days-possibly because it snowed-the markets were not as good as the ones we visited in Germany. There is a lot of variety but the items seem more mass produced than handmade. Still very enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christmas Market (Christkindelsmarik) also viewed

 

Been to Christmas Market (Christkindelsmarik)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos