We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative museum”
Review of Musee Alsacien

Musee Alsacien
Ranked #7 of 166 things to do in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the historic culture of Strasbourg and the rest of Alsace through exhibits of clothing and other household artifacts.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Informative museum”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife's fore-bearers immigrated to the US from Alsace in the late 1800's so she was very interested in the Alsacien way of life. This museum did not disappoint. Located in three old houses near the Cathedral, there is a wonderful collection of everyday items, photos, memorabilia, and artifacts gathered from several centuries of what life would have been like. The only negative to this museum is the way it is spread over a large space with multiple floors. There is a considerable amount of stair climbing required to visit all the areas. Otherwise, well worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    358
    93
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No audio for English.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The entry fee was 6€50.
We we not told of the lockers until after we purchased the tickets, which cost 1€ to rent.
The lady did not speak any English which would have helped as we were the only ones not given an audio guide.
Instead we were handed a written guide which did not follow the plan or layout of the museum,it was a very good exhibit but we missed so much information available on other languages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonkeyNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Traditionally and boring museum”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our visit got a slightly unlucky start when the lady behind the counter in a rather rude way demanded that we had to put our backpacks and handbags in one of the storage lockers in a room off the entrance. We had not seen any information about this, so we were a little surprised when she said it after we had bought our tickets. We were returning home the same day and had our laptops and other valuables with us, so we did not want to leave them. The lockers looked pretty weak, and several were without a lock, so we went back and asked permission to take our bags inside. The lady became angry and said a lot in French which we did not understand, but we understood she hadn't changed her mind. We therefore chose to follow orders and left the bags in the lockers. Fortunately it went well, but the incident put a damper on our visit.
The museum is located in three beautiful, old buildings with creaking floors and serious employees. Boring and ordinary expositions of clothing, furniture and equipment from the old Alsace. Maybe difficult to make it more exciting, but this is not very interesting, at least not for children and young people. Much space is devoted to religion in Alsace through time. The wine barrels and production equipment in the basement was the best part of the museum, in addition to the buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank oskaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice little museum showing off early Alsacien life.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Worth seeing if you have the time. Probably number 3 or 4 on my list of museums in Strasbourg, behind the Musee Archeologique and Musee De L'Oeuvre Notre Dame. Quirky trip around the building, going up then down, left then backtracking to go right, etc. Some nice displays if you have the time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gdmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well laid out, good English headset to translate. Half price for QAP's. Not too busy, even though it was a wet Sunday in August. A very good experience and most enjoyable and informative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Alsacien also viewed

 

Been to Musee Alsacien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing