We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarte Flambee, salad + Alsace Pinot Noir - Perfect lunch”
Review of Le Gruber

Le Gruber
Reserve with
Le Gruber is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #402 of 1,449 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tarte Flambee, salad + Alsace Pinot Noir - Perfect lunch”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just down from the Cathedral in Strasbourg, this place gets very busy. We decided to go when it was at its quietest around 3pm. So service was efficient and delightful - could only order simple dishes at this time but we saw no problem with this. A thin crusted flavour packed tarte flambee each (I picked the one with local cheese called Munster), a green salad and a good bottle of fresh young Alsace pinot noir served chilled and we were in heaven. Salad had a nice mustard vinaigrette, tartes were hot, crispy crusted and topped with cheese, creamy crème fraîche, onions and thin slices of lardons (bacon). Yummy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    412
    257
    162
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stodgy spaetzel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Worst food I've eaten in France to date. Couldn't finish the plate it was so stodgy. Not to mention very over cooked vegetables. Service was also tres lacklustre. Tourist trap.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cbrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible service, decent food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We wandered into this restaurant off the street, without a reservation, on a Saturday night around 8:45-9pm. It was very busy but we were seated right away by a friendly but clearly busy host. Our table was nice but not set up yet and it took about five minutes for us to get menus.

Once we had menus, we spent our time perusing and picked out our items and then waited. It soon became apparent that everyone was waiting. The table next to us ate their entire meal before our waiter came by to greet us and take our order. Other tables were waiting as well and openly showing impatience. We should have just left but we were worried about getting a table elsewhere and whether or not this type of service was standard (it was our first night in France).

It was almost 9:45 before our wine came and it took even longer before we got silverware. During this time, even the manager came over to check that we had ordered, but he did nothing to actually obtain our drinks or bread for us.

On to the food, the French onion soup was bland, the bread in it was burnt and the onions were mushy. Pretty disappointing.

Our entrees were good but not memorable and the black forest cake was not quite the traditional style (but the cake was very good).

Service got better at the very end when the restaurant was less full but the immense amount of waiting for the food just wasn't worth it. Overall, I would recommend going elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mentallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Had only several entries, was good”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by locals. Interior of restaurant was kind of country style. Service was friendly. Snacks (we were not very hungry) met expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Princessha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely old restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Only here for one night. The restaurant has a very warm, traditional feel. Lots of wood! The food was delicious and the apple pie superb.

They made really welcome. I'm writing this in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Ealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Service_commercial67, Responsable réception at Le Gruber, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients,

Nous vous remercions pour vos remarques positives concernant notre établissement.

En effet, nous sommes ravis d'apprendre que notre restaurant vous ait séduit.
Nous souhaiterions vivement vous y accueillir à nouveau.

Dans l'espoir de vous y revoir très prochainement,
Cordialement,

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gruber also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Le Gruber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing