We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chateau de Pourtales
Nearby Hotels
$289
$237
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$214
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirch(Illkirch-Graffenstaden)
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Qualys-Hotel des Princes(Strasbourg)(Great Value!)
$88
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$113
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Rouge Hotel(Strasbourg)
$134
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Beaucour(Strasbourg)
$136
$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$306
$258
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$55
$47
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
170
122
37
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
122
37
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinghotel chateautarte flambeeno elevatorexcellent breakfastcroissantsdowntown strasbourgnext morninglarge roomnice hotelon footthe hotel staffannexweddingportalestramcentre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 347 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on New Years Eve with our teenage daughter. To quote my well traveled and somewhat cynical daughter, "Dad- this is like the coolest hotel ever!" How do you top that? Seriously- the hotel was exceptionally clean and well furnished, the rooms were huge and comfortable, the breakfast was great, and the staff superb and friendly. I've stayed in a lot of hotels in the last few years and this was probably in the top two or three. The history and character of the place are the real selling point. I really enjoyed the garden and the running/walking trails throughout. We had a car so movement to and from Strasbourg was not an issue.

If you are looking at some place unique that has an incredible history but still a well furnished and comfortable hotel, you will be very pleased with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel except that its abit tricky to get in to the city if you dont have a car. Its a five minute drive to a "park and ride". From there you take the tram in to the city, cheap and easy, takes about 5-10 minutes. The service was very good with helpful staff. The room was very nice, looks like the whole hotel has been refurbished recently.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johan_Liedholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We only stayed for one night at Chateau de Pourtales. It is located about 15 minutes outside of Strasbourg. very peaceful and quiet, in the middle of a park. Not very convenient to Strasbourg via public transportation but we had a car. Our daughter is a study abroad student staying in the old part of the chateau. Our room was in the new part. It was very nice, clean spacious, with a large bathroom. It also had an odd metal door in the room- looked like the door you pull down over a concession stand when closed up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part- they are nicer.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitzga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spent the night there following a wedding :
pros :
- superb park, extremely tranquil
- nice sized rooms / clean / professional service (actually run by Germans)
- simple breakfast, but good.
- value : 65 euro for a night (single)
- the food they serv"ed during the wedding was good, I assume it is the same... not sure though

cons :
-no A/C
- could be "modernized" - its is clean and a n all but looks a tad... not so trendy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

After quite a lot of searching for a decently priced hotel with breakfast in Strasbourg, I stumbled across this hotel that seemed to have everything we needed for a two night stay. We weren't disappointed!
Firstly, the location is lovely - north west of the city set in a huge country park, where you can hire a bike to further explore the surrounding areas. This makes it a very quiet place to stay, which is helped by the black out curtains; we slept soundly all night! The only downside is the distance from the city centre if this is something that concerns you. Personally, it didn't for us as we wanted peace and quiet, but if you want to explore you'll need to take a bus then a tram into the centre from the bus stop which is about 15 minutes walk away (I can't comment on prices unfortunately as we took our car in to the centre - not something I'd recommend doing!).
Secondly, the room - maybe a little on the small side for some, but well-equipped with a small flat screen TV. The only downsides in our particular room was that the mini bar fridge was not working correctly and the safe had been locked without a code given, so neither facility could be used. However, the bathroom was great! As the hotel part of the chateau was built in 2009, the bathroom was very clean and well-equipped with a shower and all in very good working order. Absolutely lovely!
Breakfast was ample and typically continental with meats and cheeses and the whole atmosphere of the place was serene.
For the £135 we paid at peak holiday time, it was a good place to stay and very safe with door codes needed to access the building. Staff were friendly and helpful and if you get peckish there is a good priced supermarket about 15 minutes walk away. A good bargain for a 3*.
PS. The free internet was a huge plus for us...not even a 5* Hilton could offer us that!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamOChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews