We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could I would rate it with zero out of five.”
Review of Au Gutenberg

Au Gutenberg
Ranked #1,227 of 1,717 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: $1 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Petite France Centre
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

First of all we waited for someone to come and take our order for 10 minutes while the two waiters were playing with their cell phones. They made a mistake with our order and we waited for 40 minutes to have it replaced, the whole place had a dirty feeling and, to top it off, there was a mouse roaming around the tables. The food was also not tasty at all.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Tani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 657 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2019

Now we wanted to have a late dinner because our train arrived late, and all around the cathedral, no restaurant would serve after 10pm, in contrary to my country, where service to tourists is of prime importance and they serve at any hour of day and night. The Gutenberg was the only one open with its neighboring restaurant too. The tarte flambee was very good and so was everything we ordered. The only glitch was that they didn't serve "vin chaud" or hot wine, which is a tradition in Strasbourg. It was our last night there and we really wanted to have this wine for the last time, but for some reason the waiter was offended we even asked. No one should be ashamed of their traditions :):);)

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank NAGC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018 via mobile

- the fries that we were served came out completely black, meaning the oil used to fry them was old and of very cheap quality. When we asked to exchange the chips we were first served for fresher ones, the waiter told us that it was the chef’s fault and that he had no business as to the quality of the food.
- the meat was undercooked; the texture and taste was like that of rubber
- the food was overpriced BS.

overall, we were disappointed with our meal and were tempted to walk out when the first dishes were served. Very slack service and overpriced, poor quality food.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank janedoe12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

I can’t say anything about the food since we didn’t even manage to order it. We went there today and of course the place was quite busy. After more than half an hour waiting at the outside tables in the cold though, whilst the waiters were passing the hot potato to each other, nobody had even asked if we wanted drinks (not even food!), so when we complained for the long waiting time the rudest waiter told us to basically “wait and see”, to which I’ve responded “basically you are asking us to wait longer or f**k off”, to which an unexpected and unbelievable “YES” from his side followed. So we rushed out of that nasty place.
I’m sorry for the other waitress, cause it seemed they were nice.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Marco I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

This was an unplanned stop and it turned into a great lunch... the staff were all very friendly (including going out of their way to do a little treat for my partner's birthday). Broad range of food options with some good beers too ... well located. We would go again for a fun lunch

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Gutenberg also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Au Gutenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing