We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, Bad Location”
Review of CERISE Strasbourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CERISE Strasbourg
Ranked #74 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Bad Location”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute through Hotels.com and should have read the reviews here first. This is located in an industrial park and is a 15 - 20 minute commute to Petite France. The lobby looked great, we asked the staff if there was any night life within walking distance and they laughed. The room and hallways felt like a dormitory; flourescent lighting and cold tan tile. The shower was tiny. I have traveled all over Europe and even stayed in youth hostels and this was the tiniest shower that I have ever seen. The room seemed pretty clean. The beds were similar to what I have found in youth hostels.

After 20 minutes in the room, we logged onto Expedia and booked at a better hotel in Petite France for less money! It was worth it for us to eat the cost on this place to not have to spend a second night there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAdams0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    67
    43
    22
See reviews for
70
65
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had to leave my hotel because of a booking error and go there for one night. If you are a student and you only care about a bed relatively cheap then go there as your last choice. In other occasions I would say avoid it. The location is problematic because it is quite far from the city centre and on top 3 minutes walk from the tram station which is not convenient in bad weather. The room was spacious with a clean toilet and a mini kitchen with a fridge. Pay attention because hot water becomes extremely hot all of a sudden and you can burn yourself. The bed was extremely small, one small pillow, horrible decoration with plastic chairs in the room and in the lobby. Staff were not particularly helpful. Sometimes they want to get rid of you without helping you. I got a room at the basement and there was a lot of noise coming from the corridor. My window looked at the parking. Breakfast is extra,8 euros. I didn't try it because I wanted it an early escape of this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CERISEbyExhore, Directeur général at CERISE Strasbourg, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We acknowledge receipt of your complaint regarding your stay at CERISE Strasbourg.

Concerning the distance from our hotel to the city: we are close to the tram station (less 5 mn by walk) and it’s easy to join the city center. Most of our guests find it very practical.
Concerning the rooms: we have many types of room, whose prices and configurations vary:
You had the standard studio for one person, which has only a single bed.
We have also the “superior studio” with a large double bed, and the “twin studio” with two separate beds. Usually, there are two pillows per room, so we apologize if you only had just one. Our reception team is staying at your service 24h/24; we always tried to content our guests.
Finally, you noted it was not happy with the reception. Our staff is professional and nice to welcome our guests. Could you precise us what happened with the staff, as you were not happy with the reception?
We look forward to welcoming you again in one of our CERISE hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strasbourg hotels

tyrone, ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great location for getting about - near to tram, so 10 minutes from town, about 25 from EU parliament. Basic enough set-up for the money but staff pleasant and helpful, bed comfortable, room spotless and decent breakfast for about eight euro. Soulless industrial estate type location like Formule 1 set-up, but for a couple of nights by no means bad. BTW Strasbourg really lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tireoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Dirty little rooms. Incompetent staff. Very bad location, and no BASIC conforts. I could not wash my hair in 5 days because there was no hair-dryer in the Room and not either at the reception where i have been told that they had just one haidresser for the whole hotel and that it was taken. No cleaning service for 2 of the 4 days i spent in this hotel wich category should be much much lower. For all this i had to pay 99 euros for night! Crazy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a twin room at the Cerise in mid September 2012. The hotel is quite a way out of Strasbourg but within easy walking distance of the Tram which takes around 15 - 20 minutes to get into the centre of the city. The hotel is located opposite a High school and next to a mosque but there is surprisingly little noise, The staff on reception were all very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was quite clean and the bathroom was the smallest I think I've been in! My friend and I are not at all tall yet we had difficulty turning around in the shower etc so how most men would cope I do not know!! There was very little in the way of shops and eating places near to the hotel. The hotel served its purpose for us and was clean and fairly comfortable and it was reasonably priced. I would probably not stay again as I would prefer something a little more central, closer to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirls86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was not expensive and gives the impression of being close to the center. As a party of four adults (2 couples), a one bedroom apartment was reasonable, compared to two studios or two hotel rooms. It helps the budget to be able to have some meals in the apartment and not eat out all the time since we are spending 1 month in France. Not that you can prepare anything extravagant with a two burner stove and limited cookware. But it helps. We have a car, so the distance is not a big issue. The check in was OK (booking made online and prepayed). But we were told that there were no parking spaces available until the next day. So we needed to park on the street. But he mentioned we could right in front of the door, because we were concerned about safety overnight. Of course, when come back, a new front desk guy tells us we can't.
The first room we got was in terrible state. It seemed like someone checked out and they had no time to set it ip for us. Just the beds were made, towels and toileteries laid out in the bathroom.
The floors were dirty, specially behind the sofa bed we tried to move to a better possition. There was dust all over, curtains are stained and cobwebs hang from the ceiling and walls. The terrace is moldy and full of cigarette butts. Unsightly! Upon breathing, I could inhale the dust and immediately had a sore throat and allergies. We could not find the cutlery, glasses, or plates. The coffee maker had not been cleaned in a long time. We said enough and demanded to be moved. They did the next day, because they were full due to a rally or race taking place. We also got a parking space the next day, as promised.
We did not move, because it was prepaid. If it was't we would not have stayed, even though the new room is better. It is more spacious and is cleaner, with still some issues.
The cleaning staff is a group of young wowen who you find grouped in the floors congretated chatting and laughing, Then you see them outside, taking a cigarette break, same three together. No wonder the place is not clean. They are too busy socializing!
The free internet is for 4 hours sessions, but it finishes, you can reconnect with a new password without any problems. So far for the durations (three days) it has been working pretty good.
I will not recommend this hotel unless you are on a low, low budget and can't afford anything else. Inexpensive does not mean sloppy, unclean and carelesness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HTPWT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is a good cheap hotel if you don't plan to stay more than a couple of nights. It's ok, but nothing to write home about.
It is located near a the tram stop (about 5 min walking time) from where you can reach the city center in about 10 minutes. Nearby (15min away) there is a Lidl supermarket where you can get some groceries.
If you are coming with your own car you can park for free in front of the hotel. No need to pay extra for the secure parking as the area seems pretty quiet and safe and there is not much traffic. From the hotel you can easily visit Strasbourg or go for some fun in Europa Park, Germany. (45min ~ 50km).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariusV81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Strasbourg Stade de la Meinau
1.7 mi away
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirch
Adagio Access Strasbourg Illkirc...
#3 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
City Residence Strasbourg Centre
#114 of 127 in Strasbourg
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Domino
Le Domino
#2 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
#1 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CERISE Strasbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CERISE Strasbourg

Property: CERISE Strasbourg
Address: 5 Rue Job, 67100, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 127 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CERISE Strasbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CERISE Strasbourg offers comfortable and practical modern apartments for your business or leisure trips for one night or for several months. They offer you the freedom and privacy of a real home with hotel services as an extra bonus!CERISE Strasbourg is in an ideal location: 10 minutes by tramway from the Strasbourg's town centre and 20 minutes away from the European Parliament. You can take your meal in one of our restaurants partner, deliver sack lunch for sale at the desk, or to make you deliver your meal in room (more information at the reception) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your CERISE Strasbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antaeus Park Affaires Strasbourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing