We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai? Really?”
Review of Chan Chira

Chan Chira
Ranked #395 of 1,472 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Price range: $29 - $115
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Petite France Nord Ouest
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thai? Really?”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was such a disappointment. The food was so bland and appetizers extremely greasy. Location is nice and there's a nice ambience inside. But it just isn't Thai food -- they forgot the tamarind, the coconut and all the spices that make Thai food so great. Pad Thai was absolutely tasteless. Also, it's quite expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diner970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    25
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Good Thai/French Food.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal. The Yellow Chicken Curry was amazing as was the Sauteed Beef. Service was prompt and friendly. Would highly recommend if you are looking for something Thai, however I would not call this typical thai cuisine. It is very french inspired in my opinion. Prices were reasonable. Going back tonight for our Christmas Evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renae929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Service was nice and fast. Dishes were average and - for my taste - not really Thai. Prices are quite high due to the top location in the petite france. Would not recommend to go there when you are in Strasbourg.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Thai food !”
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I and my wife dropped in - by coincidence - at this restaurant in the charming old part of Strasbourg, called la petite France. We arrived to the town rather late in the evening after a horrible journey and just wanted something to eat - fast. We didn't even notice that this was a Thai restaurant ...

But what a surprise! Very cosy and excellent - really excellent - Thai food. The soup no 2 on the menu is out of this world. Great taste - and very large portion. Also the other dishes were up to a very high standard. I consider myself to be a little expert in Thai food and I really believe that this restaurant belongs to the best I've known.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torbenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Food....”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The food at Chan Chira was very tasty. This restaurant seems to be family owned and staffed. Service was decent, although only one person was doing all of the serving! Surprising. He was very sweet and quiet (a natural introvert), but yet very polite with customers, if not very warm with them (which was fine, really). He did his job excellently and ensured that diners were well attended to. We were impressed. There was a jovial gentlemen who pitched in with bringing items out of the kitchen when there were clearly many orders coming up. He came out to service diners, as well. I presumed he was the young waiter/bar-tender's father.

The chicken green curry was good. The prawn noodle dish was also very good, but the meat filled samosas (Indian inspired) as the appetizer, stole the show. They were brilliant! Have them when you go.

I would recommend this restaurant, but don't be in a rush when you go. By the way, we got there at 7 p.m. and we were the second table to be seated. We did make a reservation through our hotel (Regent - Petite France -- read my review on them, please) and the service was great. We were there until 9 p.m. or so and by then the restaurant was completely packed! That is a good sign.

Yes, the food was good and the ambience traditional, colorful and cosy.

Recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZestfulLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chan Chira also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Chan Chira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing