We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest. Strasbourg”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of le baeckeoffe

le baeckeoffe
Reserve with
le baeckeoffe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 1,426 Restaurants in Strasbourg
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Petite France Centre
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rest. Strasbourg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice restaurant. In the heart of old town Strasbourg. Atmosphere are quite good. Surrounding by river.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyslayer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    245
    102
    57
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

nice food, good service, nice price. My love and I had the lamb and vegie baeckeoffe. and yummy deserts. goo d value, reccomended. verryyy filling !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SVSephina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice place, salmon baeckeoffe to be avoided ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The place is very nice, really looks a typical alsatian (=german ...) place, with wooden furniture inside. From wikipedia a baeckeoffe:
"It is a mix of sliced potatoes, sliced onions, cubed mutton, beef and pork which have been marinated overnight in Alsatian white wine and juniper berries and slow cooked in a sealed ceramic casserole dish" ...

I made the wrong decision of having a salmon one ... the salmon taste was completely drown in the sauce and the potatoes, thus completely ruining it. It was not bad, but nothing special ... my fault, but maybe not only mine.

The dessert I had was a cheese-cake, which I found VERY good and "light".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why eat Lancashire hotpot in Alsace?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Boring food, No vegetables apart from the many potatoes in the baeckeoffe which is just an old fashioned hotpot.Was with a big group but squeezed in so tight that we couldn't move! Do not bother to go there and look for somewhere with some proper French food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank golfpsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We came here with a large group including young children. I agree, it felt a little touristy, but the food was fine and did appear to be local dishes. Service is definitely European in style--not rushed. It's an easy place to get a filling meal with a family, but I will explore other options next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le baeckeoffe also viewed

Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to le baeckeoffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing