We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay in quiet village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Au Lion d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay in quiet village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in mid August, in a 'Valley' room. The Valley rooms are at the back of the hotel and are quiet - relatives were in a room at the front looking to the street and said it was noisy despite being a little village.

Room is perfectly nice although basic. There is no safe however there is free WiFi. The 'period' wardrobe required a good amount of persuasion to open!

An evening meal in the restaurant was nice with very good quality food. Breakfast is charged at 15 euros per person, however there's a bakery down the road which will do a good coffee and a pastry. Make sure to review your bill on check-out as they charged us for breakfast even though we didn't opt for it - I guess they assume people are too lazy to look around for alternatives - however they recalculated the bill without breakfast without question.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mic_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    91
    21
    17
    3
See reviews for
31
98
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in the pretty village of La Petite-Pierre. It has good facilities. The service was friendly if a little haphazard. The room was nice but needed a fan or AC in the summer. The restaurant is pleasant and my venison stew was absolutely delicious. Service in the restaurant is polite but inefficient. Breakfast was very good but the tables could have been cleaner and better prepared. The beds would be too short for someone more than 173cm, thanks to the wooden foot board. There is a nice spot for a beer on the roadside in front of the hotel. There is a swimming pool and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for a few days as we explored the biking roads in and around Strasborg and the Alsace. Its in a good location with plenty of parking, a pool, Sauna and Beauty therapies etc. The food is excellent with all tastes catered for and we never had any complaints.
All in all a good place to stay as you explore this beautiful region of France

Room Tip: Asf for a rear view looking over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyboy13317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are with luck, you may get a room at the rear of the hotel. I was not and the noise from the rod and the coach driver running his engine for twenty minutes at four in the morning was not for a pleasant night. The staff do not seem to understand what the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign means. I was not feeling well and wanted a quite morning. The phone rang and when I ignored it a knock at the door, asking if she could clean the room. Pas maintenant got rid of her. All in all, nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the valley at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is the perfect place to de-stress, unwind and escape from city life. I have been here twice, both times in the winter, and found it to be pleasant , cosy and good value. Book one of their Arbro rooms which are very comfortable, with modern facilities, a nice bathroom and a balcony with views of the surrounding countryside.

The food is good quality, home cooking typical of the region, served either in the lovely main restaurant or the small bistro at the front of the hotel.

There is a small spa with pleasant treatment rooms, a large indoor swimming pool and a jacuzzi.

La Petite Pierre is a tiny village, ideal for people who like fresh air and walking in the country . It is definitely not a place for shopping or nightlife. There is one pharmacy in the village and a paper shop! Oh and a very helpful tourist office on the edge of the forest.

If you are coming by train they will arrange to pick you up at the station free of charge which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amateur2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Petite Pierre
0.9 mi away
La Clairiere
La Clairiere
#1 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Vosges
Hotel des Vosges
#2 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silence Hotel Auberge Imsthal
Silence Hotel Auberge Imsthal
#3 of 3 in La Petite Pierre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Au Vieux Moulin
13.8 mi away
Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur
23.6 mi away
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Lion d'Or

Property: Au Lion d'Or
Address: 15 rue Principale, 67290 La Petite Pierre, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > La Petite Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Petite Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Au Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing