We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brit Hotel primo Colmar Centre
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Taking the price into account, one does not expect 5 star luxury, but that is was this bad, I did not expect. The only positive I can discover here was the location, very near to the town centre of Colmar and the large free (public) parking opposite the hotel.
Upon entering we found ourselves in a shabby and chaotic lobby were we had to pay the room in advance (there might be a good reason for the hotel to have this policy, but for me it raised some resistance). Went to our room and found ourselves in a tiny ‘’cupboard’’ of a room, where immediately the curtains came down from the ceiling. I went to the reception and asked for another room with twin beds and got another room on the 4th floor, again a very, very tiny room, where we could not store our clothes, let alone our suitcases.
We had a nasty night, constantly struggling with the bed sheets and the rooms were so noisy, that even the slightest sound from the other guests were heard. The other guests were not even noisy, just the normal noises were overheard.
We booked for 2 nights, but checked out the morning after our first night. (We did get a refund, so that is in a way something positive).
Breakfast is an additional 7,50 euro, of which I still ask myself if that was worth it.
If you want to stay cheap and don’t mind all of these thing, by all means book a room, but I will not do so again, I did stay in cheap hotels, with small rooms, one expects lesser comfort, but in this case it was far below the average.

Room Tip: Simple...don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toneij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 424 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Balladins in Colmar for three nights while exploring the area.
The hotel was really well situated for the town sites and not too far from the railway station.
Our room was plenty big enough, clean and quiet and the bathroom was of good size and equipped with a shower stool. Minimum of towels and no hair dryer but this did not pretend to be a luxury hotel so our expectations were met.
The breakfast was very satisfactory and the staff were most pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff was very friendly and we loved the free croissants at the desk. For a hostel it is above average. Pretty clean. The breakfast was pricy for what they offered so we found something close by for much cheaper. Our triple room was small, even for a hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Think this hotel changed it's name to Balladins Colmar as the address is the same, in any case, whether the name of the hotel is Hotel Primo or Balladins, it is the same. It was cheap, but marketing was misleading as it states that there is parking nearby.

It is public parking (so not the hotel parking), it's a competition with the locals to find a spot, and trust me, they can be pretty nasty racing for spots when you have clearly been waiting in a queue. Eventually a nice old couple leaving gave us their spot, so that was very nice of them.

Apart from the parking experience which was terrible, the hotel was ok considering the price. Clean enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelccheng2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

WARNING! -even though the people at the reception were freiendly (all smokers so often out on the street for a smoke) the stay was a big dissapointment, everything was dirty, elevator, carpets of halways and room was dirty. Room floor was full of dust and still leftovers of earlier guests were found, Shower was all moldy in the corner. Beds middle foot was broken and never repaired so bed was hanging through. Da door lock was broken it was difficult to close the room door!
Guess is a hotel is only cleaned once a month or once a year and you come in 31st of Dec. you have bad Luck. Photos of hotel do NOT represent what you will find! maybe there were taken some years ago after a renovation or they repaired one room for the picutres. STAY away, much better places in central Colmar to find, even to consider chabre d'hôte instead.
See also other negative reviews of that hotel, or the pictures attached

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felix-Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Persons at reception are nice and helpful, there is a free public parking just opposite the hotel and it is very close to the old town, so you can easily walk there. We had booked a twin room which was so tiny that we found it difficult to stow away two boardcases. The beds had new mattraces, but were quite narrow and as it was December, the windows seemed not to be properly insulated. The tiny bathroom was clean, but the door only closed when you locked it.One of the bedside lamps did not work. So if you just need a room for an overnight stay, it is o.k., but make sure your room will be large enough for your needs.

Room Tip: Do not book room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlaStockstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice and clean hotel, You would find it easy, and near the Cinema and City Park, just 5 minutes walk. If you want to the Centre Ville, just 10 minutes walk. The room is quite big.. i love the bathroom.. The breakfast is vary from bread, smoke beef to coco crunch. The drinks vary from tea, coffee, and juices.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enzeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Colmar Horbourg Wihr
Ibis Colmar Horbourg Wihr
#2 of 2 in Horbourg Wihr
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Colmar Centre
Ibis Colmar Centre
#15 of 39 in Colmar
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Colmar - Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Colmar Centre Ville
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
3.6 mi away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brit Hotel primo Colmar Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brit Hotel primo Colmar Centre

Address: 5 ue des Ancetres, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range: $40 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brit Hotel primo Colmar Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 5 km from the city centre of Béthune, Béthune balladins hotel has 56 rooms with private bathroom. Guests can enjoy a breakfast every morning in the dedicated room. The Béthune balladins hotel offers soundproof rooms, with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV with Canal+ package channels. Free parking is also available on site. For a cultural outing, the Lens Louvre Museum is only 20 minutes away by car ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brit Hotel primo Colmar Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primo Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing