We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Turenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Turenne
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Turenne is just what you can dream about! Fantastic location ( just about 5 minutes to the old part of the town), wonderful staff (very helpful and caring), nice and comfortable room with flowers outside the windowsills, the lobby, the bar and the dining room interiors are really smart and stylish. A special word concerning breakfast: just wonderful! A big variety of cheeses, ham and sausage, fresh fruit, dairy products, juices, etc. To cut a long story short - we just loved this hotel, and the town. Next time in Colmar we'll definitely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nbesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    422
    116
    26
    12
See reviews for
158
385
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was surprised to read some more negative reviews below - but most of these seemed to be regarding air conditioning, which has clearly now been fixed.

The rooms aren't massive, but they are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast is good (a little expensive, maybe) and has something for every taste. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the cathedral, Petit Venice, and many bars and restaurants.

For the price, I think this is a great little hotel, and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a European road trip. We had a great comfortable stay.
The staff were always helpful and spoke different languages well. At one point while we were in the bar we overheard one receptionist trying to help a couple get emergency medicine out of opening hours, in English (ie not her own language). All sorts of stuff had to be done including contacting the police to accompany the couple to the pharmacy but she took it all in her stride and helped them well beyond her usual role.
The room size was fine for us- a couple in our mid-20s. Nice modern decor. The bed was comfy and we got a good nights sleep every night. Our room was at the back of the hotel so the view of the car park wasn't great but that doesn't bother us. Air conditioning was great (working now so ignore reviews below saying otherwise).
Wifi in the lobby area was good, sometimes we could just about get it in our room (although that's not a feature of the hotel).
The hotel bar was a bit small, more of a corner of the reception, but who wants to hang out in a hotel bar anyway?
Some people have complained about location. Let me be clear- Colmar is not a big place. You can walk from one side of the centre to the other in about 10 minutes. So if you want to be slap bang in the centre where you just have to step outside your door and see all the local attractions this place isn't for you (although Petit Venise and all it's lovely bars and restaurants, by far my personal favourite place to spend my evenings in Colmar, is a 1 minute walk away) but if you're willing to walk the 10 minute walk through very pretty and almost entirely traffic-free streets to get to the furthest attractions then it is. When we went it was experiencing a heat wave so we had to make frequent stop offs for drinks, which only made the walks lovelier.
A 5 star review for a 2 star hotel. Why this is 2 star, we couldn't work out, but then we looked up the French star rating and it seems very frivolous including requirements for there to be a phone in every room (personally I'd prefer no phone!) as well as a spare toilet roll at all times (can't say I noticed) for 3 stars, but then only 80% of rooms need an en suite (all of these do, don't worry!). Nonetheless, this place is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located close to Colmar's lovely Old Town. The staff were exceptionally friendly, competent and multilingual. The room was comfortable and air-conditioned which was great since it was hot outside. There is on-site parking for a fee but it's a bit pokey and requires some maneuvering to get in and (especially) out. However, a member of staff on his own initiative appeared and helped us and another guest to back out onto the main road.

We didn't try the breakfast preferring to eat at a bakery near the cathedral but no doubt it would have been fine given the quality of service otherwise.

Colmar's Old Town is just 5-10 minutes walk and the rail station somewhat further, about fifteen minutes.

On balance we highly recommend this hotel. The staff are excellent, the rooms comfortable and the location very good. There is a computer in the lobby for the use of guests also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May, 2013 since we like small, quality hotels that give value at moderate prices. We can ratify the experience of other visitors. Our room was of good size, was comfortable in terms of chairs and beds and the bathroom was modern and usable. The staff was particularly welcoming and friendly each time they saw us.

We felt it was necessary to take a taxi from the train station since the hotel is too far away to roll or carry luggage. I felt that the hotel was also a bit too far from the old historic buildings we wanted to see for quaintly cobbled and half-timbered atmosphere. My wife, who is more of a walker than I am felt it was just fine. This hotel is, however, in a more modern part of the city, just on the edge of the historic center. Breakfasts were very good, with better quality jams, fresh fruit, yoghurt, good pastry and breads. Seasoned travellers will never regret staying here if they book a room like our double.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

good hotel, great location. few minutes walk from center yet quiet if the room is a back room. room is very very small. clean. i was shown a supposedly bigger room for more money but i couldn't see the difference. air condition works only with closed windows (it stops automatically when you open a window). breakfast is extra, 8 euros. there is parking in the back street, not always available and for extra money. i found one in front of the hotel for free (sheer luck). the reception staff is usually friendly and help (i say usually). no mini-bar or mini-fridge in the room, which was very bad especially during such hot days (i couldn't buy any food to keep in the room, nothing). i stayed two nights. i guess it is good value price.

Room Tip: i think the rooms in the back are more quiet. i also think the rooms in the front building are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahgTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We got what seemed like a very good value price on booking.com. The room was a good size, nicely decorated, air-conditioned, clean and comfortable. The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful. The location is near the old town and also reasonably near the station. Overall very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#3 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Maraichers
2.8 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#11 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turenne

Property: Hotel Turenne
Address: 10 route de Bale, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turenne 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the center of Colmar and close to the historic district of town called "Little Venice", near the charming and picturesque villages of the region (Kaysersberg, Riquewihr, Eguisheim Turckheim ...), the Hotel Turenne offers a warm and friendly welcome.Our entire team is at your disposal 24/24 and offers 83 air-conditioned rooms tastefully decorated, and a careful and personalized service.Feel free to leave advice from our receptionists to find the restaurant that suits you. The former are located within 2 minutes walk from the hotel, in the "Little Venice".In our lobby, you will discover various tourist brochures and an Internet Point.Our bar is open 7 / 7 until 1am and offers a full menu including the wines of Alsace (glass bottle) of beer and other Alsatian specialties in a cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Turenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turenne Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing