We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I use this place regularly”
Review of Hotel Turenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Turenne
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Colmar
Guildford,Surrey,England.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I use this place regularly”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been staying in Hotel Turenne two or three times a year for the past six years or so.
I have found it to be convenient for the old parts of this beautiful city (Little Venice is around three hundred yards or less away) and when you discover the cut through, you are little more than five hundred yards from the center of the old town.
Now about the hotel itself; It is comfortable and clean, but the rooms can vary in size so you might be unlucky and get a smaller one. There is a lift (elevator) that serves some but not all rooms, there is also central air con, a godsend in the summer, and a jolly good buffet breakfast facility. Oh I nearly forgot, the place has a most excellent bar where you can get coffee and tea as well as the normal drinks one associates with a bar.
There is one thing I am not greatly keen on and that is the car park, yes its good value for money but it can be a real pig to get the car in and out when the place is full especially if you have a large car. Don't forget to book parking at the time of making your reservation or you may not get a slot.
So why do I use the place? Simply, its good value for money in an expensive city; it is easy to find; and yes I know I moan about the parking but it is there and I use it.
The staff are always friendly and helpful but this time they excelled themselves. You see as I was parking the car it became obvious that it had developed a major fault, all the staff including the manager worked with me, being my liaison officer, translator and general helper. They made sure that my recovery company did all the things they should and I had the car returned to me in only a couple of days.
So gentle traveller if you are prepared to accept that this hotel is business / tourist orientated and makes no pretence at being a "Hilton" I think you will enjoy the place.......I do.

Room Tip: Book early. This is a popular place. A room at the back of the hotel (away from the road) can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the-wandering-fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    441
    125
    26
    12
See reviews for
167
401
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the center of Colmar just steps outside of the little Venice neighborhood. I think it's better to stay outside the old city because it's crammed with tourists and you can't park there. This hotel is located on a quiet street with free street parking. All the sights are a 5 minute walk. The hotel provides free internet and the speed was quiet fast. I did not try the breakfast. The rooms are very very small. There was only a few inches of space one each side of the bed, barely enough to walk by. I know hotels are small in Europe and this hotel was no exception. The room and bathroom were very clean. I would definately stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a night.

The room was clean and comfortable, the desk staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to the old town, and yet it was easy to find a spot for the car.

The only negative thing was that the room looked a little bit old fashioned and was not too big, but that would not prevent us from returning there.

It's definitely a good address.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joegold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We found this thanks to Tripadvisor and couldn't have been more pleased. why isn't every bed and breakfast hotel like this?
Easy to find off exit 26 from the motorway, an easy walk to Little Venice and the stunning old town.
The room was very comfortable and recently refurbished, linen crisp, bathroom shone.
Staff most professional and helpful.
Breakfast buffet above usual standard for basic hotel; lovely fresh bread and croissants (and I'm fussy about bread) including slices of local speciality kugelgopf. The meats were much better than the usual bog standard.
Internet access was free but I never managed to get onto internet. The signal was very weak.
Helpful staff reset the router but it was no good.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an overnight stop, but especially stay a couple of nights and visit the town which easily rivals Bruges or Antwerp.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmetrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very pleasant hotel situated close to the old town in Colmar. Staff are exceptionally pleasant, attentive and helpful. Parking is extra but safe although a little tight parking the car. Cold breakfast is good value at 8.50 euro. Comfortable bed and pillows and good shower pressure with plenty of hot water. Air conditioned which was a bonus. Would definitely stay here again if ever visiting this pleasant town.

Room Tip: If you want a minibar, be sure and request as not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Good size of the family bedroom, actually we even had one spare bed, the room was set for 5 persons. Location is very good, only 300m from the old city centre. Good breakfast buffet and the welcome was excellent.
Only one issue: our room had only window which was weird, but you cannot have it all.
The rate was fair value, even though you can always complaint that it's too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlv31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nous avons passés le nouvel an 2012 à Colmar et on a aussi profité de voir les derniers jours du marché de Noël. Cet hôtel c'était un des derniers disponibles, qui ne coutait pas trop cher. C'est un jolie hôtel, sans prétention, etc. Il offre des bonnes chambres à un bon prix et il est à 500m environ de la Petite Venise. Le seul point négatif est que les chambres sont un peu âgées. Ça se voit que la décoration n'a pas été changé depuis les années '70. Mais à part ça c'est un bon hôtel.

P.S. Pas loin de la gare, si jamais vous arrivez en train (10 min à pieds).

A nice hotel not too expensive, and not far from the old town of Colmar and the train station. Just a little negative point... the rooms are still back in the seventies. They may need a little update!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turennesa, Directeur général at Hotel Turenne, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires sur notre établissement.
Vos avis nous aident à améliorer nos prestations et c'est avec plaisir que nous vous informons de la rénovation totale de la moitié de nos chambres. Les dernières chambres seront rénovées durant l'hiver 2012/2013. Les chambres non rénovées cette année, ont tout de même bénéficiées d'un changement de moquette l'année dernière et elles ont été repeinte.
J'espère que ces améliorations vous permettrons de passer un séjour parfait dans notre belle ville et notre hôtel.
Encore tous nos remerciements pour votre séjour et vos avis,
et nous espérons vous revoir prochainement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 40 in Colmar
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#6 of 40 in Colmar
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 40 in Colmar
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 40 in Colmar
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Colmar Centre
Ibis Colmar Centre
#18 of 40 in Colmar
782 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Europe Colmar
Hotel L'Europe Colmar
#1 of 2 in Horbourg Wihr
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turenne

Property: Hotel Turenne
Address: 10 route de Bale, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turenne 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the center of Colmar and close to the historic district of town called "Little Venice", near the charming and picturesque villages of the region (Kaysersberg, Riquewihr, Eguisheim Turckheim ...), the Hotel Turenne offers a warm and friendly welcome.Our entire team is at your disposal 24/24 and offers 83 air-conditioned rooms tastefully decorated, and a careful and personalized service.Feel free to leave advice from our receptionists to find the restaurant that suits you. The former are located within 2 minutes walk from the hotel, in the "Little Venice".In our lobby, you will discover various tourist brochures and an Internet Point.Our bar is open 7 / 7 until 1am and offers a full menu including the wines of Alsace (glass bottle) of beer and other Alsatian specialties in a cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Turenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turenne Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing