We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Le touareg

Le touareg
Ranked #47 of 292 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Not easy to find a restaurant in x'mas eve open and affordable! We had a reservation in a nearby "local" restaurant. The price was just sky high : a regular bottle of white wine is 25 euro, the Christmas menu is 58 euro per person. We have sit for 15 minutes, no one is serving us! So we decided to leave and find this little restaurant. Their menu is 25.5/p, a salad foie gros plus a main dish. I had a tajine chicken with lemon and olives, my partner have the special fête pain, which is even better!
The service is nice and warm. The mint tea is great!
So we spent 63.5 euro, almost half the price than the previous one. And feel much happy and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    73
    26
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binningen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Cous-Cous Royal in the surrounding”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went today to Le Touareg in Colmar. The restaurant is lovely decorated, clean and in the middle of the old town of Colmar, just a few minutes walking from the Dom. We had the cpus-cous royal and this was the best cous-cous we ever had (we had it also in Tunis and in other part of the world), it was lovely cooked and be sure.. we will go back again and enjoy it!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sguizzarelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple and quality food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went there as two couples with an infant. We had two dishes of cous cous with differents "meats" and two dishes served inside a clay pot, and a salad.

All the food was very nice - good, quality ingredients and nicely cooked. It was tasty but not exciting. What do I mean? It was not the food where you savour every mouthful. This was not ones.

The negatives: The waiter does not at all speak english - not even for some simple things like extra bread, water, etc. So we had to communicate with our basic French. I note this because it can be a detering factor for some people. Also we had to remind the waiter multiple times to bring some of the things that we had ordered, like the salad and the extra bread.

To conclude, would I go again? Yes, but it will be long. Why? Because the dishes served are basically two kinds: cous cous dishes with meat and meat dishes served inside a clay pot. Having tried both, I think there is not much else, signficantly diverge, left for me to taste. So I would prefer trying something else first before returning to Touareg.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ntalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“quality food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

great location in old part of colmar. we had pastilla to start, big one between four of us, excellent. then lamb tagine and couscous royale. a bit pricey but food was excellent. wine was expensive because it was moroccan!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sausageman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“would go again”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

great location in old part of colmar. we had pastilla to start, big one between four of us, excellent. then lamb tagine and couscous royale. a bit pricey but food was excellent. wine was expensive because it was moroccan!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sausageman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le touareg also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Le touareg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing