We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas, wine and friendly staff!”
Review of L'Un des Sens

L'Un des Sens
Ranked #60 of 292 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tapas, wine and friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a very pleasant dinner at this small restaurant, sitting outside on a quiet street away from the "hustle and bustle". The menu is a selection of cold tapas and everything we tried was very tasty. The wine pairings were both interesting and good - each wine is a surprise as you don't see the bottel until you have finished your glass. The wines are from all parts of France, not just Alsace.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    49
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We had a very nice experience!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I had our base station in Colmar for our exploration of the Alsace-Lorraine region. I had made a reservation at L'Un des Sens for our first night in Colmar. The young men who run this wine bar were very nice. The food and wine pairings were OK, we decided. The experience was local and charming, and while I wouldn't say we were blown away, we had a very nice time. Even though it is small, like most french quaint restaurants, I would recommend this wine bar for groups of 3 or more. I think it would be a blast with a little more lively crowd.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Come Here!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We enjoyed this on our last night in Colmar (just yesterday!) We had a great time. I had read the reviews on TA, so felt it was worth checking out. We had been disappointed by the lack of formal wine tours through the area that were focused on wine and not also on historical sites, etc... This was a good alternative.

We arrived around 5:30 (we are early diners) and were greeted by our waiter (possible owner). He had no problem speaking to us in English and we felt welcomed. Upon being seated he asked if we would like bubbles, red or white. We chose to begin with some delicious Champagne.

As others have noted you will not order wine - you will order food or just do a wine tasting. This was the same experience for us.

After completing our wine, he brought the bottle, told us many details about it and took our food order. The food are shared meat or cheese boards. Most of the food was excellent - we did order Scallops w/ Bacon (thinking we would get that), but we instead received a jarred food the was the scallops with bacon. We ate most of it and it was fine - just different for us.

Throughout the meal we had four glasses of wine (1 Champagne, 3 Whites). We would have done some reds, but were concerned about getting up early for our train to Zurich and did not want to be hungover. We also ended up purchasing a bottle (a Muscat) that we tasted and was local.

Overall, great experience and a new way to try wines. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Our total bill (including 3 food items and 8 glasses of wine was only 95/euro. Can't complain about that!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bmcmybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Didn't really know what to expect but went along due to positive TP comments. We had 3 lovely courses with wine pairings suggested by the sommelier. Finished with some Alsace whiskey.Great place,great staff recommended. Also good value.Total bill 75euro.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmar, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice concept”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent an evening there and we were pleasantly surprised about the original concept and the good athmosphere! It was nice to share our wine tasting impressions with some good enologist!

Helpful?
Thank JouanaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Un des Sens also viewed

Colmar, Haut-Rhin
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to L'Un des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing