We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated.”
Review of Musee Bartholdi

Musee Bartholdi
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Underrated.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Who knew the guy who designed, and is mostly responsible for our Statute of Liberty is from this small town? I admit it needs better management but with it, this would be a real draw. It needs better explanations in English, or better guide literature. And the desk staff could be more inviting. That said, it is a great exhibit if you take the time to figure out what's what and the building is a show stopper. The museum is housed in his grand childhood home. With a few changes, including a gift shop (I wanted a reproduction of the lion he did that I'd never heard of) this place would be a real draw and I suspect could make decent money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    140
    55
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Disjointed museum with no English text”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We found this museum disappointing and unworthy of the work Bartholdi did. One floor recreates his Paris apartment (nothing to do with his studio or life as an artist). The upper floor has some models and photos of his bigger works like the Statue of Liberty but without English wall text, you may find it difficult to extract any valuable information.

We found no information about his training, his methods, etc. All in all, not worth the 5€ per person we paid. Skip.

Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Andelys
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed seeing how the statue of liberty was built in Paris and shipped to the States. There was a wonderful old photo of New York taken in the 1800's before any skyscrapers were built.
There were lots of statues and models of statues created by Bartoldi in the museum. Well worth a visit and I should think even more interesting for American visitors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Statue of Liberty history and other”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Three floors of sculpture and art of Bartholdi, recreations of his family apartments. They could use some more information in English. All the museum signs are only in French. English (and other language) speakers receive several pages stapled together about Bartholdi's life but only 1 paragraph to describe the exhibitions on each floor. As I understand it the EU requires 3 languages - hmmm?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Bartholdi is an Icon of Colmar”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 10 days in Colmar. Bartholdi has as many as 7 statues around parks and other areas of Colmar. A smaller replica of the S.O.L. was made to commemorate Bartholdi"s 100 year anniversary is on the entry roundabout to Colmar, and is well done.
He was a rock star in Colmar's eyes. Bartholdi's statue outside his family home/museum is beautiful. Although he was born in Colmar, he spent most of his life in Paris as a Frenchman, as Colmar was again under German reign.
We learned alot from this small museum and glad we made the time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ABohemianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Bartholdi also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Musee Bartholdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing