We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Saint Martin
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three evenings to visit the marchés de Noël. The location is superb to the markets and there is a Casino supermarket directly facing the hotel as well as some decent restaurants on the same square. The room was clean and functional and we asked for a quiet location and got one. Beds were comfortable and there was wifi, but the wifi was unreliable and did not function great. Noise was a small issue with the next door room--walls were not soundproof. The breakfast was good and we had no complaints there. What was the weakest point of the hotel was a notion of service. Upon arrival, a man who was so generally "whatever" about everything gave us a map that wasn't even correct. Only upon asking where the Tourism Office was did he say, oh, it's not there on the map where it's marked... And then proceeded to give us bunk directions, even though there was no language issues since we spoke French. Several women behind the desk were warmer, but in asking questions about things going on in town, they would say "I don't know" and not offer to help you find out. For example, we wanted to attend a concert and one of them refused to even offer to call to see where it was located... Very poor personal service for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    241
    77
    15
    4
See reviews for
93
298
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed four night in September 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the town, hotel and four fine restaurants. In particular we recommend Restaurant du Marche, 20 Place de la Cathedrale only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
JH_UK

Room Tip: We were is the lowest cost room at 105 Euro and found it perfectly acceptable. No need to pay more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were lucky to get the room with the large, ivy covered terrace. I think there's only 2, with a table and chairs on the first level. This hotel is reasonably priced given the location and character. You can drive and park out front briefly before following staff directions to ample free parking on non-event days. I'm 6'5 and the beds were fine to me. Breakfast was better than most we had in France.

Room Tip: If the weather is good a room with a terrace is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you want to be in the middle of town this is the place to be. We had room 101, first floor overlooking the Grand Rue. The room was spacious, the bathroom was good apart for the hair dryer and the bed(s) were very comfortable (we had twin beds pushed together with each bed separately made!). We didn't have breakfast there thinking that 12 Euro each was too much-so can't comment on it. The town is lovely, with history surrounding you. Would certainly stay here again should we find ourselves in Colmar again. We walked from the train station with our bags and it was an easy flat 15 minute walk with plenty of advice on where the hotel is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlesPlowdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We rode into Colmar (by motorcycle) and St Martin is obviously THE Place to be in downtown Colmar. It was nearly full so we were offered one of the 'special' rooms with a view over the square and a lot of space in the room - which for motorcycle travelers is much appreciated: VERY nice. The price was reasonable for the location and quality, to be honest.

The location implies that there is no secluded parking space for the bikes. Not a huge problem but the bikes will be parked up against the facade of the the hotel.

Room Tip: Everything is at spitting-distance. Sights, restaurants, bars ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This Hotel is in a great location in the center of the most elegant of old towns I have seen. We parked on a nearby car park. 500 yards away and followed the signs to this hotel The car park has a number of free spaces but is very busy. The hotel room we had has been restored to a very high standard and a very nice balcony overlooking a court yard. We sat and enjoyed some local wine , bought from one of the many wine shops nearby. Considering the top location we thought the price was reasonable at £80 per night. We didn't eat at the hotel as there are many great restaurants to try. A great place to rest on our way to Italy I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryAlberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the St. Martin late last month. It was such a charming place. The building was built in the 1600's but the rooms were updated and comfortable. We had room 16 that had a balcony with flowers in boxes overlooking the square. When you got tired of walking around the beautiful village, it is fun to go and sit out on the balcony and just people watch.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emperorsclothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#3 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#11 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#7 of 39 in Colmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#10 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Martin

Property: Hotel Saint Martin
Address: 38 Grand rue, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colmar
#4 Business Hotel in Colmar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Martin Hotel
Saint Martin Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing