We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic building and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie le Marechal
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classic building and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We drove on to Colmar - a town I have visited several times and enjoy - where we stayed at the four star Le Marechal which is in the area known as petite Venice. The receptionist was first class when we walked into this clearly upmarket establishment. It is an old building which backs onto the river and is one of those places that is truly picturesque. Considering the age of the building they have done well to manage to squeeze in rooms and a lift that works. We had two small doubles which were perfectly adequate as singles and I suppose OK as doubles if you are small, or very friendly. That night we dined in their gastronomic restaurant called A l’Echevin: it provided slightly pretentious service: the food was correct as one would expect in such an establishment: but I would have liked to see more flair and inventiveness.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Worthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    180
    88
    49
    15
See reviews for
89
279
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Four Elms, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Rooms are not very spacious and the decoration is not what one expects for the price. This hotel is in need to a refit! Marvellous location nonetheless, and the set price dinner was just superb, as was the choice of taster wines to go with it. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourelmsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

My husband and I were so excited to go to Colmar. We found this hotel through a reliable network called Small Luxury Hotels. We are members of this sight and have used it before and not been disappointed until now. Le Marechal looked so adorable, quaint, comforting, and old on the websites. It is set overlooking a canal. When we arrived, it was quite adorable from the outside and looking at it from the canal (some rooms overlook the canal). We parked in public parking just across the street from it. Quite convenient parking and easy to use. By the way, definitely mapquest or use your gps to find this hotel. When you get into "old Colmar", it becomes difficult to navigate. Anyway, we checked into the hotel. Small lobby but adorable. Friendly staff took us up to our room (Debussy, I believe number 14). We of course walked up many flights of creaky old stairs....just to be expected. When we entered the room (top floor), all I could see was this canopy bed that took up so much of the room there really was no room. For a room that size (typical in Europe)....who would think of putting a four poster bed in it. I was trying to figure out how we would navigate the room the bed was so enormous. It was not a cozy feeling at all as you just felt that the bed dominated the whole room with just a foot or two on either side to walk. Ridiculous. When I entered the bathroom, I checked out the shower. I could stand in it (5 feet 6 inches tall) with not a lot of room left over between me and the top of the shower. I was trying to figure out how my 6 foot tall husband was going to handle this. I understand everything in Europe is much smaller than in our country....but please....why bother having the room if only small people can take a shower. On top of that, we were paying a precious price for this so called luxurious room. We asked if there were other rooms available and they showed us the Wagner room. Much nicer, a lot more room, overlooking the canal. They said we would have to pay the higher rate but could only guarantee the room for one night and then we would have to change back to the Debussy. We took the room and agreed to pay the higher rate. Well, it went downhill from there. The room was okay. The bed was hard. The air conditioner came out from the wall above and was noisy and not effective. You could hear the noise from the restaurant across the canal all night. The television....no american or british channels at all.....not even BBC! This was archaic. The straw that broke the camals back was this room had no enclosed shower. It was a small jacuzzi with a hand held shower attachment on the faucet of the bathtub. There was no shower curtain, no glass....you simply had to stand in this open bathtub and hold up (no holder to put the hand held nozzle into) the nozzle to shower. Water went everywhere in the bathroom. There was no place to set it down while you shampooed. It was ridiculous. Even if the place is old.....can't you rig a shower curtain or some sort of enclosure with a holder for the shower handle???? I finally convinced my husband that we did not need to spend another night in this place. We had commited to 3 nights but I felt that we were being ripped off. We went out to dinner to think it over. When we came back, we wanted to sit in the bar to have a drink. There was no real bar. Everything was just sort of makeshift. Long story short....we went to complain and they were not helpful at all. They were defensive, arrogant, and unwilling to help make the situation better. The next morning we went to the reception desk and spoke with the so called manager. She was defensive and unhelpful. We said we wanted to leave and she granted that and let us out of the other two nights. We voiced our complaints to her and she did not seem to care. Long story short, don't stay here. Overpriced....bad accomodations....bad service....really bad service. We went out that morning and found accomodations down the street and over the canal at the Hotel Colombier. It was outstanding, less expensive...much better accomodations, and great friendly help. I will write a review on this hotel next. Do not stay at Le Marechal. The ambience is not worth it.....the service is "I don't care I have your money!"

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank parisparis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed two nights at htis centrally located Alsacian hotel. The triple room was a very generous size with a contemporary style bathroom. The seperate shower and toilet were fine, but there was a very unpleasant smell.

The young lady on reception was charming, but the only real down side was the service in the restaurant which was slow and surly, however the food was great. The restaurant is very formal so wouldn't recommend it if your children can't sit still.

The hotel is a v short walk from all the sites, and Colmar is so pretty and great pressie shopping. May well go back to the area for the Christmas markets which I would imagine are beautiful.

Very romantic location, probably best for cuples rather than families but we had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and in-laws went on a overnight to the Alsace region and decided to stay in the Hostellerie le Marechal based on previous trip adviser reviews. We live close by and spent only the 1 night here. We enjoyed the hotel and it's unique rooms, the parking was city parking - free until 9:00 the next morning - right outside the door which was great, the front desk staff are multilingual and efficient. We chose to eat at the restaurant in the hotel based on a previous review. The food was really mediocre for a 4 star restaurant but the primary reason we would not eat here again was the service. It was painful to be a guest that evening. From ordering, to drinks to food service to finding someone to pay our bill - dismal service at it's best. It may have been due to only the 1 girl for a 3/4 filled dining room (there was one more server in the beginning but he disappeared after taking our order never to be seen again). If only someone had cared to explain the very long delays or returned to see if we needed anything. We ended up serving our own wine and waters,running around trying to find our waitress for the bill and when she agreed to bring it never showing up. We finally sent our in-laws to their room as they were tired and continued to wait. Finally we left the table to go to the front desk where we found our waitress. She handed the bill to the front desk clerk without so much as a look in our direction and left the desk. We ended up putting it on our room tab and returning to our room exhausted and sad that we nor our in laws had such a dismal dinner that evening. We enjoyed the hotel and it's lovely ambiance but can not recommend the restaurant based on our own experience that evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

This hotel has the perfect location in Colmar's old city, with easy auto access for day trip to the surrounding Alsace countryside. The room - we had a larger suite - was spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful, although there is no bell staff for luggage assistance. The breakfast is an additional cost but has a good selection of cold foods. It is quiet and a very good base for exploration. The age and the fact that it was cobbled together from several old homes give it character and a cozy "feel" that we enjoyed. It was an excellent location for exploring all of southern Alsace, and Colmar itself.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

spotted this hotel crossing a canal on a rainy summer afternoon. We cringed for a moment when the only room left was in the 'annex'. Our fears were laid to rest once we stepped through an ancient gate into a charming courtyard where our room welcomed us on the second floor. The main hotel was very fancy but the annex was simple, safe and clean. Excellent towels and Loccitane bath products. Excellent location in 'Little Venice'.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbride123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#4 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#7 of 39 in Colmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#11 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
2.7 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Marechal

Property: Hostellerie le Marechal
Address: 4 Place des 6 Montagnes Noires | Petite Venise, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie le Marechal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tranquility of a village at the water’s edge, right in the centre of town. Old, half-timbered houses, balconies heaped with flowers, weeping willows which dip their boughs into the Lauch waters… this is the heart of Colmar, the old quarter which is so picturesque that it has been called “Little Venice”. Constructed in 1565 on the fortified walls which encircle the old town (11th century), the Hostellerie « Le Maréchal » welcomes you to the center of this enchanting spot. Everything about the place has charm, tranquility, elegance and courtesy. Why not try a four poster bed from the yesterdays ? The owners, Family BOMO, will personally ensure your comfort. The 30 Rooms and suites are nostalgic, furnished with good brocades and antiques, but with 21st century conveniences : TV LCD HD (international chanels), WIFI, Minibar, Phone, Individual Air Conditioning, WC, Safe, Hair Dryer, all equiped with bath (some with whirpool bathroom) and shower (some with massage shower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie le Marechal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Marechal Colmar
Hostellerie Le Marechal Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing