We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostellerie le Marechal
Nearby Hotels
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar(Colmar)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Turenne(Colmar)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$209
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$91
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel le Colombier(Colmar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
232
213
101
58
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
213
101
58
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle venicegourmet dinnerromantic hotelold buildingperfect locationold worldbreakfast servicewooden beamseuropean hotelsbreakfast was deliciouslovely hotelpetite venicealsace regionclose to the hotellovely townno liftchristmas market
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 623 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our four-night stay in this quaint hotel. For 150 euros/night we had room 35, quite a large space on an upper floor with a queen-size bed, a huge double wardrobe, a desk and chair, round table with chair, and high double window from which we had what must be one of the most charming views in Alsace. The bathroom was also quite large, with both an expansive tub and a good shower, and a floor-to-ceiling storage cabinet. The room was extremely quiet, even with hordes of tourists milling about below. Only negative (very minor) was that the room is under the roof and is criss-crossed at a couple of points by beams that might be a risk for a tall person.

We had booked through Small Luxury Hotels of the World and inquired about a free upgrade when we arrived, but our stay happened to coincide with a major four-day holiday weekend in Germany and the hotel was completely full for the first three nights. They offered an upgrade for the last (Sun.) night but we were very comfortable where we were and declined the offer. Other rooms that I peeked into were much smaller than ours, but I can't speak to the more expensive ones as we didn't explore those.

We took dinner at the hotel the first night and had a lovely corner table in the section of the restaurant right by the canal. There are other sections, all very elegantly decorated. Service was somewhat slow in our case but that might have been because I am a vegetarian and the chef was preparing a dish for me (a mushroom risotto) that was not on the menu, which I really appreciated. The servers were friendly and hardworking, dealing with a packed restaurant and customers speaking at least three different languages (English, French and German)..

The hotel made an excellent base for exploring not only Colmar but also all the other absolutely gorgeous villages in the area. We visited them all and also enjoyed beautiful Haut-Koenigsbourg castle with its mountain setting, and the parc des cigognes in Hunawihr, where you can see storks nesting.

All in all we were very satisfied with our experience at the hotel and very pleased to be able to stay in La Petite Venise, which could hardly be more charming.

Room Tip: Room 35 is spacious and comfortable and has a wonderful view from the high window - just don't knock yourself out on the beams.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janicetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Situated in the old town, next to a canal but just far enough from the crowded tourist areas this family run hostel has to be experienced. Everything functions in a creaky old way, the rooms are small as can be expected but the air of times long past compensate for any shortcomings. The food was excellent and dining just next to an old canal has its charms.The sumptuous Breakfast even included Champagne (if not nursing a hangover from too much good wine at dinner the night before). Colmar is well worth a visit - especially during fine weather. A good start to explore the wine route.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aromdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I loved this place. It's got bags of character, all baroque and bright colours with a small but perfectly formed terrace next to the canal for dinner. Our room overlooked the canal and was lovely. The bathroom was a bit tired but it didn't detract because it was so different (a family run small hotel that wasn't bland). The staff were fantastic and the food divine. We only stayed one night en route to Strasbourg but wished I could have stayed longer. I've stayed at The Ritz and Savoy but would love to return here one day because there are no pretensions, just lots of style!

Room Tip: Choose canal view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location was nice, just next to le petite venice canals and a short walk away from old town where the town is rather lively. The building itself is a little worn out and so are the rooms but if you are looking for authentic Alsacian style house, this can be your choice. I recommend if you get a good price and plan to stay for 2-4 days max.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Indrek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

First we thank you warmly for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

Our house has 30 individually decorated rooms and we try to renovate every year one or two rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building.
The number of stars in our establishment is assigned by the Ministery of tourism who delegate an agency to audit the hotels.
We get the new French tourism classification end of 2012 with more than a positiv agreement.

However we believe you had a nice stay in our establishment and would be pleased to welcome you again during your next trip in Colmar.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had the triple room in the 'attic' with the jacuzzi tub and it worked out very well for our family of 3. You had small windows out both sides of the roof to let air flow and glimpse the rooftops. The room was simply furnished. The hotel itself is in a great location on a canal within walking distance of everything you need. Make sure to not leave any belongings in the (pay) parking outside the hotel as there were break-ins when we visited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

First of all we thank you for the time you've taken to write to us regarding your stay at our hotel. Your various comments help us everyday to improve our services.

We would be delighted to welcome you for a next visit in our house.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews