We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving week end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostellerie le Marechal
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Loving week end”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice and lovely place.
very polite and kind staff. breakfast was not really satisfactory.
dinner instead was delicious.
location is pretty good and you can enjoy a nice view on the canal.
I like also very much the room and appreciate a bit hard mattress.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you warmly for your last stay in our house and for your feedbacks.

We have take note about your comment concerning the breakfast and will do the necessary to improve our service.

We would be pleased to welcome you in the future for a next visit in Colmar.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    187
    90
    51
    15
See reviews for
92
298
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The first room we were given smelled to high heaven of stale cigarette smoke. Natalie very kindly moved us to another room. The whole hotel smelled of cheap air freshener and some of the decor was rather tacky and not worthy of this beautiful building. The beds had no duvets but sheets and blankets (Hello? Are we in the 21st C?) All staff were very correct and the food in the Etape Gourmande was absolutely fantastic. However breakfast was a shambles; no bread nor cheese nor ham nor juices available. I had to ask one of the waitresses (the only one who was not polite in this hotel) to get all this which was done with some reluctance! We left with a disappointed feeling and would certainly not return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you don't want to be fumigated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaba9, Responsable réception at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
First we thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

You have to know concerning the rooms and our decoration that our house has 30 individually decorated rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building. But as we know tastes are subjective!

We are very happy that you had a good experience and that you appreciate our restaurant.

Concerning the duvets, we have received many comments about that, and we are looking to change the sheets and blankets. For the moment we try to find solutions to adapt the duvets on our beds because most of our rooms have upholstered beds.

For the breakfast, the waiters almost have to refill the buffet elements when they are empty; we are really sorry if it wasn’t done when you have taken it.

So we really regret that your stay in our hotel was not up to your expectations.
We will enjoy welcoming you in the future and certainly will offer you a better service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I noticed a number of negative reviews about this Hotel, but I have to say that the experience our party had was hospitality at its best. We had 2 rooms on the 'little Venice side' and they were comfortable, clean, spacious, and well equiped.
In the restaurant we enjoyed the 'Etape Gourmande' that gave us a taste of excellent cooking with food and wine from the Alsace region.
In short we enjoyed our stay in the delightful town of Colmar very much.very much

Room Tip: River side rooms have the better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaba9, Responsable commercial at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you stayed with us during your last trip in Alsace.
We will appreciate your feedbacks and helping us improve our global guest experience.

We will welcome you with pleasure for a next time in our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Not one nice thing to say. You will be happier staying elsewhere. Colmar is a great little town but the Hotel has had it's day.the staff are unfriendly and abrupt. The beds are old and the mattresses are hard. The lift doesn't work and the stairs are dangerous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaba9, Responsable commercial at Hostellerie le Marechal, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mrs and Mr CLIFFORD
First we wanted to apologize for the delay of our response.
We have to come back on your different negatives points you find during your last stay in our house.
At your reservation, we didn’t know about your early arriving in the morning. When guests give us this information we always try to do the best to find you a hotel room which is available the day before.
For your luggage’s, they are normally kept in our office which is closed just next to the reception.

You inform us that nobody proposes you a coffee or refreshment as well as using a bathroom… We are really sorry for that because there is a bathroom in front of the reception free for our guests.

Normally all our reception staffs know about historic, highlights and local attractions we apologize if the person who was at the reception didn’t answer you.
Nevertheless we have a large place in front of the desk were you can find all the flyers about Colmar, his area and the special trips.

About the breakfast, in your case we know that there are included for SLH Club Members. We already ask to be sure that the customer take the breakfast either if he wishes to take it into the room or at the restaurant.

The lift in our hotel is monthly inspected by the leader company of the French market Schindler and the result of the tests appears inside this one. This is for us very important because many security controls are made in the hotels in France.
About our stairs the house was built in 16th Century and the stairs is an authentic oak stair from 19th Century.
It’s really full of charm having such an element in a house and we regret that you didn’t enjoy it!

Concerning the rooms, you noticed that it was old fashioned but you have to know that our house have 30 individually decorated rooms. There are all personalized but they all respect the tradition of a 16th century Alsatian building.
If you wanted to change your room during your stay, it has been with pleasure that we would have offered you another room according to your convenience.
The plastic cups are more and more used in the hotel world for hygienic reasons for their unic uses and also for security reasons. (glas could be dangerous if its breaks in the bathroom)

So we really regret that your stay in our hotel was not up to your expectations.
We will enjoy welcoming you in the future and certainly will offer you a better service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is my second time staying at this hotel in Colmar. It's very charming, especially at Christmas time with all the lights and bears on the roof. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and makes for great pictures. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a restaurant there and it's very good, but the menu items are very expensive. They want you to eat there, so they really try to encourage you to make a reservation in their restaurant. We ate there the first night, and although it was really good, it was just too expensive, so we ate elsewhere the second night.

The rooms were small (to be expected), but clean and comfortable enough. The hotel is in a good location. It's basically at the edge of the old town near the river. The room rates are expensive and they don't include breakfast. Internet is free all over. I would stay here again if I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our "superior room" was a real disappointment! Not only was it cluttered and shabby but it was also not very clean! When I lifted the scatter mat the rug was stained and dirty. The supposedly modern bathroom was a poor imitation. The bed hardly a double. All of this for 195 euros!!!. I can handle old, historical and charming but not shabby and dirty.
We we were offered a complimentary breakfast as our room was such a disgrace but when we arrived well in time for breakfast the buffet was virtually picked over and no one made any attempt to replenish the food.
We did have dinner in the charming dining room. The food was not exceptional but pleasant and the service was excellent.
This was not up to par with other Romantik Hotels. I was told the room was scheduled to be renovated which did absolutely nothing for us.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

despite some negative comments, we actually had a really beautiful small room in this hotel with everything we needed. the only thing that scared us was the duck on the small river going crazy in the middle of the night as we like to keep windows open...maybe the duck had an nightmare of getting transformed to colmars famous pate...haha...really, we did really like it and it is just in the medival city center...a good stay...!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doraemonPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#4 of 39 in Colmar
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#8 of 39 in Colmar
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#3 of 39 in Colmar
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#12 of 39 in Colmar
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Colmar Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Marechal

Property: Hostellerie le Marechal
Address: 4 Place des 6 Montagnes Noires | Petite Venise, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie le Marechal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tranquility of a village at the water’s edge, right in the centre of town. Old, half-timbered houses, balconies heaped with flowers, weeping willows which dip their boughs into the Lauch waters… this is the heart of Colmar, the old quarter which is so picturesque that it has been called “Little Venice”. Constructed in 1565 on the fortified walls which encircle the old town (11th century), the Hostellerie « Le Maréchal » welcomes you to the center of this enchanting spot. Everything about the place has charm, tranquility, elegance and courtesy. Why not try a four poster bed from the yesterdays ? The owners, Family BOMO, will personally ensure your comfort. The 30 Rooms and suites are nostalgic, furnished with good brocades and antiques, but with 21st century conveniences : TV LCD HD (international chanels), WIFI, Minibar, Phone, Individual Air Conditioning, WC, Safe, Hair Dryer, all equiped with bath (some with whirpool bathroom) and shower (some with massage shower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hostellerie le Marechal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Marechal Colmar
Hostellerie Le Marechal Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing