We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location!”
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le Colombier
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here last week, with another couple. The location of the hotel, in proximity to Little Venice is superb, right outside the door! Our friends were given a room on the second floor, facing the courtyard, which was very nice. We however, were given a room on the third floor, in the building behind the hotel. There is no elevator and two of the staircases are winding...very tricky with suitcases! Our bathroom was above the bedroom, in a loft. It offered no privacy and was about 10 degrees warmer up there! Having said that, I really liked the hotel! The people who work there were very nice. We brought back a bottle of wine one evening and the gentleman at the front desk brought us a snack to enjoy with the wine, in the courtyard. Our airconditioner worked extremely well, other than the cool air could not reach the bathroom. Our bed was very comfortable and we had a very large flatscreen tv. Would stay here again, just request a room on a lower level.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GermanyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Colombier Colmar.

We are glad to read that you appreciate the location of our hotel.

Our goal is your comfort, that is the reason why do not hesitate the next time to ask the reception if the room is not at your convenience we will find a solution.

We thank you for your good impressions about our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Colmar in a near future.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

I made reservation through booking.com.
It was 20 mins walk from the train station.
Check-in was fast with information on the breakfast and check-out time.

I got the room at the ground floor facing the courtyard.
The room was size was alright for me with minibar, complimentary Wi-Fi, and air conditioning.
Love the huge and comfy bed, separate toilet and the bath tub. Bath robe, slippers and toiletries are provided as well. It was a perfect stay.

Location was convenient with plenty of parking space and just 2 minutes walk from Little Venice.
Colmar is an amazing town and I don't mind staying at Le Colombier again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Huminodun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our establishment our service and our design as well as its location.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the Hotel Colombier Colmar.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the le Colombier for one night in June. I booked their internet special rate for the room and I was pleasantly surprized. It was just lovely. Though a small-sized room, it had everything we needed and a huge bathroom (the largest I have ever seen in Europe). Our room faced the main strreet on floor 1, but the room is well insulated and we heard no street noise. The hotel is conveniently located and the area is a delight to explore. Though the special rate did not include breakfast, we added breakfast to the room and ate at the hotel in the courtyard and enjoyed a fabulous buffet breakfast. The wi-fi and air conditioning both worked beautifully, and there is an elevator (though the spiral staircase is worth a look).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennesseetraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay in our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you was surprized about your room and bathroom size. It is always nice for our team to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We confirm you that the wi-fi and air conditioning are working perfectly.

We are pleased to know that the breakfast was at your convenience and that you appreciate to take it on our courtyard.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Colmar in a near future.

Best wishes,

Laurent Willmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our three nights stay in the suite of Le Colombier very much. As we didn't know Colmar at all before, we were very happy to find out the location of the hotel was so perfect - all the best restaurants were VERY close to the hotel, beautiful old town was right there and yet the hotel was on the edge of the area so that it was easy to drive in there and find a parking place close by. Some people here at Tripadvisor have given negative feedback about the service but I couldn't disagree more - service was excellent! We had an incident of a air conditioner dripping water to our luggage and they did such a great job fixing this. The A/C was fixed quickly and our stained clothes were cleaned fast - just the kind of service I appreciate.

Breakfast was paid separately but then again it almost always is in France. We didn't love the fact that the shower booth didn't have a door so the floor got wet and the thing that you could hear the toilet sounds to the sleeping area but again, small thing that didn't affect our stay in any way.

Loved to walk back to hotel in the evening after amazing dinner in JY'S (amazing Michelin Star restaurant just about 100 m's from the hotel) to the hotel that was so lovely lit in the evening. Charming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are glad to read that you appreciate the location of our hotel, near all the good restaurants of Colmar.

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback concerning our excellent service. We thank you for sharing with us your nice experience with our personal. Our goal is your comfort, that is the reason why our reactivity concerning your A/C problem was a priority.

It will be with a big pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Colmar.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed one night here on a weekend break. The hotel is easy to find but the free parking spaces outside are snapped up quickly. We were directed to a car park about 5 min walk away which was also free of charge, although it was a game of musical chairs there as well!

Our room was located on the 1st floor with a view to the courtyard and reception area. The historic building has been tastefully renovated and really is something special. The room was all white, which some might find too sterile but it was clean and modern. Seperate toilet and a nicely designed bathroom.

Breakfast was taken near reception and the buffet was a good spread with local produce, a real delight.

Colmar is a beautiful town, there is so much to explore that it's worth staying at least a night and not trying to cram it all into one day. i wouldn't hesitate in returning to le Colombier again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

As le Colombier is right in the city center it can be difficult to find a parking spot. In the street where the hotel is , there are 100 public places ( 1/2 free of charge), but the free places are always popular. Otherwise our reception team give you with pleasure the indication for other places.

We are happy that you enjoyed our establishment, its comfort, its location and its Design as far as the town of Colmar and its various centers of interests.

We will be very happy to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Best regards

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had booked a standard double room for 2 nights. The room turned out to be on the top floor, facing a busy street, was extremely small and had a tiny double bed. The weather was extremely hot and the air conditioning did not work properly. The receptionist was unhelpful and we spent an extremely uncomfortable night.
The next morning, the manager, who had been off duty the previous day, apologised and moved us to a superior room, which was larger, quieter and had working air conditioning.
Breakfast was good and cabe taken inside or in a pleasant courtyard.
The position of the hotel is good, close to the attractions of Colmar, and there excellent restaurants very close by.

Room Tip: There are only 3 standard rooms in the hotel and they are equally small. Spend a little more and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG12a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Hotel Guests,


We thank you very much for taking time to give your impression after your stay at le Colombier.

We are very sorry that your first night was not your expectations, the hotel was fully booked so we can only find the solution the next day.

Do not hesitate to inform us about your wishes at the reservation, so our team will do the best to make your stay more enjoyable.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast which can be taken in our new salon or in our cozy courtyard.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you on your next trip to Colmar.


Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A really great hotel in the heart of Colmar. This is the second time that I've had a short stay at this hotel. It's staff are very friendly and professional. Rooms are modern, but retain some of the character of the beautiful historic building they are in. Comfortable beds, well soundproofed rooms, effective air-con and clean.
Breakfast isn't included, but the selection is great and worth the extra €13 pp. And if you want breakfast away from the hotel, it's a very quick stroll to cafés/ restaurants nearby. The hotel also has a nice courtyard if you want a drink/ breakfast outside of your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateC1990FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guests,


We thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and for your second stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you had an wonderfull stay in our hotel, that you enjoy the comfort of the rooms (the beds, the air conditionning, the sounfproffed,...) combined with the historic building .

Thank you also for your compliments concerning the buffet Breakfast with the local products and the special mention to your staff.

We really hope to see you again in our nice Colombier.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 39 in Colmar
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#7 of 39 in Colmar
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#15 of 39 in Colmar
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#11 of 39 in Colmar
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#2 Business Hotel in Colmar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range: $138 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing