We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Location!”
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Colombier
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Baldock, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Great Location!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and breakfast was first class. Right in the heart of the old town so easy sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imperial3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Colombier in Colmar.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our establishment, its comfort, its design and its location.

We are also very pleased to hear that our breakfast was at your convenience.

Thank you for your compliments about the excellent service offered by all the team for your reservation and during your stay

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    402
    92
    30
    14
See reviews for
111
599
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

No issues at all with the Hotel Le Colombier - none at all. We had a smooth experience making our booking via email. The associate made the necessary recommendations for our room types for the 1 night we stayed there. Check-in was fast, and parking near the hotel on that particular day was not a problem at all. Conveniently located right by the Petite Venise (and the lovely restaurants) and really just a stroll to the other tourist sites. The rooms were truly the highlight. I believe we had the renovated rooms - our rooms were located on the 1st and 3rd floors. The one which accommodated the extra bed was amazingly spacious. The attention to detail was just amazing. My room had the wooden beams on the ceiling which added to the charm of the room. There was air-conditioning as well and there was no need to open the windows. What was really odd about the room was that the WC was NOT in the toilet itself but was housed in a separate water closet. The bidet on the other hand was located in the actual toilet. You had to walk from the water closet into the toilet to use the bidet. I'm not sure how that's supposed to work. Nonetheless, we absolutely adored our rooms. Yes, the rooms are pricey but it was 'okay' for a place popular with tourists. We did not see how one would spend more than a night in Colmar anyway. And to clear the air, this property has a lift! Although I'd recommend climbing the beautiful sprial staircase. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daziz_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay at the Colombier Colmar.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your compliments about the excellent service offered by all the team for your reservation and during your stay.

We appreciate also that you found the rooms to be comfortable. The rooms where you stayed were not renovated, but kept nice and clean because our priority is your comfort.

Is is true that our hotel is located in the center of Colmar and near all the tourist highlights of the city.

We will with pleasure welcoming you another time in our house.

Best wishes,

Laurent Willmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation for a quiet room with a WORKING air conditioner.
Our room was neither.
The front desk and the manager told us the "air conditioner takes time to work", they came to the room two times looked us right in the eye and lied. Eventually one worker told us the truth, it just doesn't work in April as it's set for heat. The room stayed at 85 degrees .

They just don't care.
It was cooler in the hall where they were remodeling, there were carts and walls covered with sheets, so much so that to gain access to the room, one had to walk sideways, and the noise of the contractors started at 7 am.
Choose a different hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank psimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry that our hotel and service did not meet with your expectations.
The air conditioning indeed depends on the outside temperature which was around 20° C at the end of April – we apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the lack of sufficient information concerning this issue during your stay.

We have been having some renovation works going on in our hotel in order to improve the facilities of our hotel. The work will be finished very soon and we are certain our clients will appreciate the result.

During your next visit in Colmar, please do not hesitate to contact us, as it would be a great opportunity for us to change your mind about our property and for you to discover the remodeled rooms and public area.

With Kind Regards,

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It has a very central and convenient location, staff is very friendly. We had a newly renovated room. It had a huge bathroom and bedroom, very quiet as the windows were to the courtyard. We were in this hotel with our family and rented two other rooms as well. The other rooms were smaller and with streetview and we were told, that at night, when the window is open, it can be loud because of the people passing by on the street talking loud. Our room though was really quiet. The only funny thing is that the toilet is in the closet (really). It was ok but unpractical because the when you were in the toilet, the closet door was not easy to close from the inside... breakfast was not included in the price and it was ok. not the best and not the worst breakfast I had. All in all a very good 3 star hotel and when we go to Colmar again, it is very likely that we stay at le Colombier again

Room Tip: Aks for a room with courtyard view when you are looking for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is true that one of the room you have was totaly renovated, we have note your comment and we will do the necessary for the others guests.

We are pleased to know that the breakfast was at your convenience and also glad that you enjoyed our quiet rooms.

It will be with pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Colmar.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base for touring the area for a couple of days - convenient for the whole of the wine region. Our room was perfectly adequate and very clean. WiFi was fast and we had no difficulties finding free parking places close to the hotel (well, maybe once we had to hover for a minute or two). There are lots of good restaurants within a short walking distance - overall a good choice at a good price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your nice experience in our hotel.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated the location of the hotel, and all the amenities of the room.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Colmar.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location was central and the building itself is cool. The room was clean, the breakfast had delicious local food (but was 13 extra euros per person). The fridge/mini bar was nice (no corkscrew, but you can ask downstairs), and they provided robes.

I don't see myself as a picky traveler, but, for the price (around 140 euros per night without breakfast), I wasn't very happy.

The room on the third floor was hot (first week of May), and there was no fan or a/c, so we slept with the window open, but it's a very noisy location. (Cars coming down the cobblestones rattled all night long, in addition to the many people outside the hotel at all hours.) You could feel the springs in the bed, and the pillow was too think and heavy. (I asked for another, but they didn't have anything else.) Toiletries were not replaced for day two. (I really don't mean to be picky, but, for 140, I'd like some shampoo.) WiFi only worked in lobby and breakfast area, despite being advertised as working in rooms.

Overall, it was a fine place, but I would either look for something cheaper or with better facilities.

Room Tip: Room 32 (cheapest category) faces the noisy street and seems to have poor ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your stay with us, and for taking some time to provide some constructive feedback regarding your experience. We are really sorry that your stay with us was not completely pleasant and there is no doubt that we will take note on your remarks and make our best to improve on those aspects (the toiletries how wasn't replace is not normal.)

It is true that we had a problem with wifi, which has now been settled by our technician.

However, we can read that you enjoy the location of our hotel, also the cleanless and our breakfast with "delicious local food". So we would be delighted to welcome you next time in another room , perhaps with view on our courtyard or Colombier Suites, which will be quieter.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you on your next trip in Colmar.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at the Colombier with my work colleagues for 4 nights on a business trip to Colmar. The hotel really surprised me by the big and spacious rooms, the love to detail in regard to the furniture, the nice bathroom and the good location. I didn´t try the breakfast buffet, but it looked pretty good. The only downside to the hotel was that the doors seemed to have a mind of their own; several times mine didn´t shut unless by force. Other than that, I only have good memories of the Colombier and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyBeeInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read you positive review, thank you for sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you did enjoy our decoration and the confort of the rooms with their modern furniture.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#3 of 39 in Colmar
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#10 of 39 in Colmar
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#8 of 39 in Colmar
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#13 of 39 in Colmar
752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 39 in Colmar
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Property: Hotel le Colombier
Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colmar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
#5 Family Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing