We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh hotel in quaint old town”
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Colombier
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This newly renovated hotel is in a renaissance building in the ‘old’ part of town, and offers modern amenities in a charming setting (check out the staircase next to the lift). Check-in was quick and business-like but not especially friendly. Reception staff were very helpful when asked. Our ‘Superior’ room was spacious, clean, simply but nicely furnished, with a good outlook to the street where there was always interesting activity to watch. There was some road noise generated by the cobblestone street, but this was no problem if the double glazed windows were closed. Breakfast was good without being special. The old town of Colmar is a ‘picture postcard’, and well situated to explore the Alsace ‘wine road’. Beyond the rows of half-timbered houses and wonderful Unterlinden museum (and Bartholdi Museum), however, there is not much to do. We did enjoy just wandering the streets. On Tuesdays in the warmer months there is a folk music night in the Place De L’Ancienne Douane, which is a lot of fun. For good restaurants at fair prices close to the Colombier check out Winstub Brenner (very friendly, quality regional cuisine) and Le Frichi’s (superb fine dining). Richon Patisserie, almost opposite the Colombier, was a winner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing us during your stay in Colmar.

We enjoy to read your review and to know that you had a pleasant stay! Thank you for sharing your positive comments.

As you write, we are very lucky with the position of our hotel wich is very pleasant for the visitors.

We hope to see you on your next trip in Colmar.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Colombier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 930 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Positive aspects: Staff simpático e eficiente. Quarto 13 , no qual ficamos as duas últimas noites, amplo e agradável. Ótimas amenidades de banho, incluindo roupões limpíssimos e chinelos. Melhor café da manhã que tivemos na França. Tivemos um upgrade gratuito que nos agradou muito. Chambre 13 grande et agreable. Le mieux petit dejeuner en France. Ammenities de salle de bain tres bon. Upgrade gratuit superb. The room 13, which we stayed in the last two nights, was large and pleasant. We appreciatted the free upgrade to that room. Great ammenities list. Best breakfast we had in France.

Negative aspects: Na primeira noite, ficamos em um quarto com carpete, o que agravou a alergia do meu colega de viagem. Um upgrade cortesia a partir da segunda noite resolveu o problema. Os alérgicos devem solicitar um quarto sem carpete. Il a eu de la moquette dans la premiere chambre, mauvais pour mon petit ami, qui est allergique. Cependant, on a eu un upgrade free, et on a loge les deux dernieres nuits dans une chambre très agreable, grande et sans moquette. There was carpet in the first room we stayed in, which caused a allergic reaction to my partner. However, the staff kindly gave us a free upgrade, to a much better room, without carpet, and everything was ok.

Room Tip: Peçam um quarto sem carpete. Demandez une chambre sans moquette. Ask for a room without carpet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabelCampinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Madam, Monsieur,

We thank you very much for your comments about Le Colombier.

The staff stay at your disposal for any questions, you had a problem with the first room. We went very happy to help you.
All our rooms are different, if you need a room without carpet don't hesitate to say it at the arrival or at the reservation.

We thank you also for your compliments concerning our new breakfast with local products.

We will be very happy to have the pleasure of your next visit.

SIncerely yours


AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice location in central Colmar. The room was clean and a decent size. Seperat toilett without handwashing facilities-had to use the adjacent bathroom. Traffic noise from the street was a bit annoing. Ask for room away from street. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast reaconably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
I am happy to read that you were generally satisfied with your stay at Le Colombier in Colmar.

Concerning the noise , we inform you that all the the rooms are equiped with double window. Morehower, we can also propose rooms on the courtyard side.

We are delighted that our staff was able to assist you in this process to enjoy even more of your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time in our hotel.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Modern efficient clean fittings in an attractive old building. Good free parking in street outside once you get a place. Our room was in annexe building across street at back up steep narrow staircase on 3rd floor with no lift - quite a struggle with luggage at age 77 with no assistance. Usual exhortations in room about towels and the environment but when will these hotels learn to save water by arranging for the plugs in the wash basins to function?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guests,


Many thanks for your comments after your stay with us.

We like to read that our guests are satisfied about our hotel.

We also propose in the main house from Hotel Le Colombier rooms with elevator access.

We will be very pleased to have the pleasure of welcome you another time in our nice colombier.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Le Colombier is mere steps away from the charming Little Venice Quarter. Our room was somewhat under-furnished and cramped for two persons, although its bathroom was modern and well appointed. The non-descript appearance of the hotel's exterior, reception and public spaces did not seem to fit the ambience of Colmar's half-timbered Vielle Ville.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canamtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Madam, Monsieur,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit.

We have taken good note of your comments and have to explain you that Le Colombier is a mix of old, we keep some parts (stairs, wood, beams,...) and contemporary decor, this give the specail character of our house. The other particulary of our house is that the rooms are all different from each other.

Of course, our staff is listenning to the wishes of oour customers.

We hope to have the opportunity of your stay in another room...

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in Colmar as a base for exploring the Wine Route, but this lovely hotel and town were worth a visit in their own right. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. I was glad we stayed several nights and spent time in this beautiful town,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noostie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are very glad to read your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Colombier. We aim to combine the aspects of our location, design, services and our staff in order to provide our customers with an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for letting us knows that we are achieving our goal on making our customers happy.

We would be more than glad to see you once again in our property.

Best regards

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is a good solution for few days/w-e. The building is quite old, in some cases there is no elevator to get to your room (with suitcases can be heavy to carry for few floors). It's charming and quite central, rooms are on the small side and not really freshly renewed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Hotel Guests,

We thank you very much for your stay with us, and for taking some time to provide some constructive feedback regarding your experience. We are really sorry that your stay with us was not completely pleasant and there is no doubt that we will take note on your remarks and make our best to improve on those aspects.

We thank you for giving us notice, as these are great opportunities for us to grow and implement. We hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future, to provide you with a more valuable and pleasant stay.

Best regards

AS Heitzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.5 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#7 of 39 in Colmar
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 39 in Colmar
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#11 of 39 in Colmar
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#13 of 39 in Colmar
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colmar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
#5 Family Hotel in Colmar
Price Range: $131 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing