We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel le Colombier
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed here in October. The Hotel is phantastic, conveniently located in the heart of the old part of Colmar. Lovely restaurants just araound the corner. Staff is very friendly and helpful, good service orientation. The rooms have a perfect mixture of modern design style, making use of the nice character of the ancient buildings. The value of this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sansibar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear guest,

We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and thought it was perfect.

In our hotel the mix of the modern decoration in an old building is our particularity that we use everyday as an advantage since every rooms are different.

Every day, we recommend a lot of restaurants in our town according to the wisches of the guests.

We’re always pleased to hear such great review and thank you kindly.

Thank you again for your time.


Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    379
    88
    27
    14
See reviews for
102
571
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is in a convenient location and fairly smart and modern. However, we will probably not return as it is not suited to any English speaking people.
When we arrived they said they did not have a porter and we would have to move our large amount of luggage without offering any assistance whatsoever.

Out of 143 TV channels they only have bloomberg as the only one English speaking channel available.
Our sink was blocked when we arrived and despite asking four times in French to clear it no one came. The smell was terrible all night.

Not really worth the money in our view, as we went to Hotel Les Tetes nearby for one night where the service and food was immpeccable .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riseccouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir.

Thank you for having taken the time to share your Hotel Colombier experience with us.
It is always important for us the receive feedback from our quests, whether positive or negative.

We regret to hear that your stay was not as you expect. First because of language problems, be sure we have approximatly 25% of our guests how speaks english, we are not bilingual but we understand the expectations of our customers and are fully able to meet them.
It is thrue that we don't have a porter at the hotel, and we are mostly womens....

You compare our hotel with les Têtes, they are 4* and we are 3*, so there is a lot of items you can't really compare.

We thank you again for your feedback though we feel it has not been objective to our hotel.

Kind Regards


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

There's not much I can add to the positive reviews already posted. We managed to get the last room available, which was on the fourth floor (attic room). I hate attic rooms, been in a few over the years and always find them awkward and claustrophobic. Not so here - beautifully decorated and comfortable room with seperate WC & bathroom. Minibar fridge and tea & coffee making tray were very welcome.

Staff were pleasant and helpful, couldn't fault them in any way.

Location of hotel is perfect, right next to Little Venice and with free parking (only on the hotel side of the street) you couldn't ask for much more!

Having thought hard about it, the only negative comment I can make is to wonder why the side door on to Rue Poissonnerie was always locked?

Next time we end up in Colmar, we know where we'll be staying.

TFAD

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts with all the world on Tripadvisor.

The Colombier is a charming hotel where all the rooms, also on the attic, are very well equiped and each one is unique.

Also, we highly appreciate your comments about the staff.

Concerning the location, the hotel is in the center of the historic district.
In the rue Turenne, where the hotel is, are 100 public parking places, half free of charge.

We are working to change the system of the side door to give the guests a code to enter.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is propably the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed at in France.
The property is in excellent condition and the staff very friendly. They will go the extra mile for you.
The location is also ideal for visiting charming Colmar.
Everythnig perfect: no. The breakfast is absolutely correct for french standards but not in line with the very high standard of the house.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your Hotel Le Colombier experience with us.
"The best 3 star you never stayed at in France" is the best compliment our guest can make.
The staff will be pleased to hear that you were satisfied with their performance.
We have also note your comment about the breakfast, for which we are committed to serving fresh local produce.

You’re welcome back anytime here at Le Colombier and thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.

Kindest Regards,

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great hotel. Very nice. No coffee machine and parking can be tough. Nice staff. Perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMtraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your positive feedback following your stay with us.
We are very pleased that you found our service and our facilities to your liking.

Thank you again for having taken the time to share your experience with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Le Colombier September 2011, it was a great pleasure and for sure we will stay here again if back in Colmar.
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Great room in high standard.
In less than a minute you are in "Little Venise", so walking distance to all the nice places in Colmar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear hotel guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you said the location really couldn’t be better. We are in walking distance of all what you have to see in Colmar.

We wish to see you again and hopefully for a longer duration.

We thank you for your comment and recommendation.

Kind regards,

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

A unique hotel loctated right in town! We loved this place. The rooms were very comfortable and large, with each one being a little different. The location was perfect. The only downside was parking, but after driving around for a bit, we were able to find a good spot. Great little town, great hotel. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drlpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Propriétaire at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Madam, Monsieur,

Thank you so much for your message about our hotel. It is always a joy for us to receive feedback from your guests.

As you mentioned, our hotel has an ideal location, very close to the city center and all major attractions.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time in our Colombier.

Sincerely yours

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie le Marechal
Hostellerie le Marechal
#11 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#6 of 39 in Colmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
0.2 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#10 of 39 in Colmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Property: Hotel le Colombier
Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#2 Business Hotel in Colmar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
#5 Family Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing