We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel has been criticized for its nondescript architecture. Well, the aspect is nothing to write home about. But there is a nice lobby, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms pleasant. We also thought the breakfast nice. True, the latter is a bit expensive, but that's unfortunately the norm in French hotels.

We liked being next to a park. It provides an area of green and quiet. A certain number of tour buses use the hotel, but we were never bothered by any noise.

It is a short walk to the center of the city and all the sights and restaurants. There is a reputed restaurant at the hotel, but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1225, Directeur général at Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to know that you "chose positive mise sur le commentaire client comme par exemple found our staff to be friendly". However, I regret that this visit was less than satisfactory due to the condition of " raison de la plainte the room that you were given".This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is a pity that someone in the local council back in the sixties or seventies found someone from the Lego school of architecture to design this hotel and then employed Concrete-is-us to build it amongst the elegant surroundings. I think the present management of the hotel have done just about all they can to soften the edges.
Situated in the park, it was peaceful, even on a busy weekend and being on the back of the hotel we did not hear the comings and goings of the coach groups. A five minute walk gets you right in the centre of the old town and all it's attractions.
The Mercure brand gives a predictable product. Where this hotel wins out is the quality of its staff. All were good but the reception staff were outstanding. Helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H1225, Directeur général at Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We have realy appreciated for taking time to express your feedback concerning your stay in our property.It was a pleasure to welcome you, every day the main goal of the management and the staff are to reach guest satisfaction .

Thank you for your appreciation on the quality of the service and the hotel.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Mecure Champ de Mars is in a good central location, convienient forColmar centre, it's close to the station (10 mins walk) and only 10 minutes from the centre with plenty of restaurants available.

There is limited free parking directly outside the hotel and I am sure these are taken up by nearby residents however there is pay parking on the street 30 metres away which operatates between 09:00-12:00 and 14:00-17:00, price is €1.50 for an hour, the hotel has a garage at €13.00 per day, there is also parking under Place Rapp which is next to the hotel.

Staff are friendly, rooms are modern and bright with flat screen TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. Bathrooms are quite large with a shower over the bath, water pressure is good for that wakeup shower.

There is a minibar in the room which I didn't use so cannot comment on prices.

Breakfast is a rip off with very limited choice, definately not worth the €16, if this was not business trip and due to being in a rush I would of gone to a nearby paterissery (Spelling) saved money, there is a express breakfast option of Coffee and Croissant for €8

Overall the hotel is in a great location and I would use again next time in Colmar on business.

Room Tip: There is a large fountain at the back of the hotel which can be noisey when it is on in the summer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dksbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Colmar is beautiful! And could not be better located ... 15 minutes from the train station and beside the fantastic town of Colmar. From walking around all day with the certainty of the hotel being right next to you. I recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifbonomini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was petite by every standard. Housekeeping did there job and things were clean The breakfast was overpriced and understated. The room was billed as air conditioned but the ac was turned off for the season, despite it's being hot out.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Milesaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Whether you stay for a night en route to somewhere else, or you stay longer because Colmar is your final destination, the hotel is a great place to stay: park your car in front of it, and just forget it: everything is within walking distance! A special mention to the hotel reception staff: the two ladies who took care of us on arrival and departure were exceptional... they really make you feel welcome! On a less positive note, breakfast is far too expensive for those - like us - who just have a cup of coffee and a croissant, but you can prepare a cup of coffee in the room, and then go to any patisserie or bar in town, for a quarter of the price. It is a pity, because everything else is good: in fact, we are going back next week!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaElda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in a town where there would be enough to do to recover from jet lag, that is, park the car and stay awake by walking around until it was time to go to bed. The Mercure Hotel Champs de Mars was perfect for purposes. The hotel is fairly modern, clean, and nicely appointed with modern furniture. The wifi worked great for the planning that we had to do. the best thing though was its location close to the old town, a couple of blocks away.

On the con side, breakfast was outrageously priced, so we skipped that and ate elsewhere. In addition, we were told there was free parking, and they didn't lie, but it is limited and because we were tired we ended up paying 13E for covered parking just so that we didn't have to deal with it.

Colmar is lovely town and we ended up using the phrase "not as cute as Colmar" as a negative descriptor for towns we have visited since then.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank althorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 39 in Colmar
785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Colmar Centre Unterlinden
0.5 mi away
Ibis Colmar Centre
Ibis Colmar Centre
#18 of 39 in Colmar
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Colmar Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#11 of 39 in Colmar
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars

Address: 2 avenue de la Marne, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range: $91 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Champ de Mars hotel offers 75 spacious airconditioned rooms. Located in the Champ de Mars Park in the heart of the town, a few steps from the picturesque Little Venice quarter and the Unterlinden and Bartholdi museums. Features easy access,TGV railway station just 5 minutes away. An ideal venue for your meetings with 300 sqm of naturally lit and WiFi equipped meeting space. THE place to stay on your weekend in the capital of the Alsace wine region. Bar with terrace area, room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Colmar Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing