We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, bit too far out though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, bit too far out though”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, looks brand new. The location is good for an overnight stopover but is a wee bit too far out for sightseeing Colmar.
The staff were very attentive and helpful, The room was large and had all you would need, The bed was comfortable and bathroom had a good shower.
The bar area is quite small, the breakfast area is large and the buffet is good. we would have enjoyed staying longer but the location would have meant travelling by car a lot. there is a steak house next door but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    298
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
84
391
12
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Perfect for roaming the region and visit Colmar and Strasbourg. Costly atmosphere, above-standard rooms, de luxe bathrooms, excellent breakfast. Dismal views over commercial warehouses. But, so what? You only sleep (well) on the premises after all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelguest055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and travelled to Europa Park (about 50 mins away), nearby Strasbourg, Zurich and Baden-Baden airport (about 1 hour 50).

The hotel is very modern with aircon and free wireless. The standard of cleanliness throughout it second to none and our bed was among the best we've ever slept on. Everything is in mint condition and looks as if it has just been renovated (I've no idea whether it has or not).
The price of drinks were reasonable (about 3 Euros 50 for a bottle of beer) and the staff were friendly and multilingual.

It's about 6 miles from Little Venice in the old town part of Colmar which is full of restaurants and a relaxed atmosphere.
Next to the hotel was La Boucherie which seemed popular and provided a discount to hotel residents. The staff were friendly although waiter service was slow the food came out quickly.

We struggled to understand the menu as there wasn't an English version but ordered Escalope which was undercooked (we asked for medium), very chewy and gristly.
The desserts menu was very limited so we didn't order anything. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant - go into Little Venice and order something there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and couldn't hear any noise from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is modern and stylish and the bed comfortable. It's situated on the outskirts of the town, in an industrial area, and there is very little by way of restaurants within walking distance for the evening. The nearest is La Boucherie which is right next door and is ok but totally meat orientated. The old town of Colmar is very quaint, there are great photo opportunities everywhere, its a 'must-do' visit but also definitely not walkable from the hotel.

I notice that previous reviewers have said pleasant enough things about their stay here but unfortunately we found that :-

- the reception staff are rude and unhelpful and pull faces behind your back (or so they thought)
- people knock at your door and just come in (we were having siesta)
- the lift doors close very hard and quickly (it bruised my arm and was swollen and painful). I reported it but no one cared much. Apparently the manager was told but he didn't care either!
- the wi-fi is free but really a pain to access with your iPhone, much more complicated than normal plus my husband and I could not use it at the same time because we had the same access code (its room related). Eventually we got a second code but this wasn't readily volunteered which I found annoying as we clearly both had iPhones.
- there is no mini bar in the room which I have never come across before over extensive travelling so it wasn't even possible to keep a bottle of water cold.
- all the Tv channels were not working, and as it happens not the English one! We told the reception staff, although they already knew, but no-one bothered to do anything about it in 5 days.

Sometimes the manager of a hotel will write an answer if you give a bad review to suggest it was unusual or you are not a seasoned traveler or something similar but I can assure you this is not the case here! Please try not to stay at this hotel - they don't care about their guests and they don't deserve our patronage or our money. The only person that was nice was Sandra (breakfast servery).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingridula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Overall this property is a super stay. The rooms are well equipped and the bath provided a great shower. The location is near the airport but we did not hear any noise but you are a ways from city center. The breakfast bar is large and offer a great choice of menu items including a variety of hot items.
I would have given the property an Excellent had the wifi not been so frustrating. The signal was fine, BUT everytime, you navigated away from your first website, you were required to revalidate/login. So if you are on a page with a link to other site, you are bumped out and have to login again. This is the ONLY property we have experience that has their wifi system configured this way. Also if you have more than one web user in your party be sure to get an additional log-in from the front desk. It was provided without a problem but it required another trip to the front desk after we thought we were settled.

Room Tip: You will need separate wifi log-in for each pc/tablet/smartphone you will be using--be sure to get w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nwsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great breakfast, nice people
Rooms are small but very nice and clean, great beds
Free parking
Easy to find
Not far away from château koenigburg and close to downtown Colmar but not walking distance



Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

A one night stay here on the way down to Switzerland. 75 euro for the room plus 10 euros pp for breakfast.
Audrey not the most smiley but spoke English which was good.
The room was very good, nice bed, shower was amazing. Breakfast too was also very very good.
Very impressed with this one.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gaz1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
3.4 mi away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#3 of 39 in Colmar
79 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#4 of 39 in Colmar
889 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Turenne
Hotel Turenne
#12 of 39 in Colmar
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige

Property: Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige
Address: 26 rue des Metiers, 68000, Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room at Hôtel Roi Soleil Prestige features a unique fresco painting and has flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a Nespresso machine. The hotel is on the outskirts of Colmar, a 10 minute drive from the center of the city.The colorful guest rooms at the Hôtel Roi Soleil Prestige are also air-conditioned and feature a laptop safe. They are all serviced by an elevator.A buffet breakfast is served every morning in the dining area. The hotel offers a jazz-themed lounge bar where guests can relax with a drink and vending machines serving drinks and snacks are also available.The front desk is open 24 hours a day and luggage storage and free parking are available at the hotel.Hôtel Roi Soleil Prestige is one mile from Colmar Exhibition Center. A secure bike shed is available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Roi Soleil Prestige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing