We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Quatorze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quatorze
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great modern hotel. We had lots of room with a huge bath, slippers, and robes. Made for a very relaxing evening after walking around Colmar all day. It is a little hard to find as sometimes the navigation system could not keep up in the old town. Recommend bringing a map, get a pass from them to park at the rapp parking garage at reduced rate. Real easy walk to all areas - cathedral, petit Venice, shopping, restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tbkmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel Quatorze is small design hotel with sophisticated aesthetic and excellent location. Though rooms are rather small, they feature great amenities, iPod docking for music, Aesop bath products, robes, slippers, mini bar, hairdryer etc.

The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and service was more than excellent.

Hotel Quatorze really does offer a breath of fresh & chic air in hotel living.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stavros79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booked a basic room for a night stop whilst driving to Austria from the UK over Christmas.

Stayed here once before and this experience paralleled the last one - so I'm guessing management standards must be pretty consistent.

Hotel is in the centre of Colmar and easy enough to find, though parking can be a little tricky.

Rooms are modern and recently refurbished to a high 'modern/minimal' standard.

Staff are 'cool but helpful' and I would describe the atmosphere as 'efficiently relaxing' with an ever so slightly 'overly designed' dimension (best exemplified by the quirky asymmetrical crockery you'll encounter at breakfast - the breakfast is pretty good though there isn't a restaurant as such.

Colmar over the winter holiday is beautiful (slightly Christmas Twee) and best experienced in snowfall when the festive apparel and streams that run through the centre of town are at their frozen best - but you'll want to either book a restaurant or rock up well before 8pm to get a decent table at a reasonable place not entirely packed out with tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the top floor suite (#14). The design is superb, a modern take on an attic, with exposed wooden beams and porthole windows. There are two bathrooms, one with a three way shower, the other a spa bath. A king size bed and two futon chairs that convert to single beds make a comfy stay for a family of three such as ours. There are two HD flat screen tv's, an espresso maker and beer on tap. The lighting is modern and edgy, there are Aesop products in the bathroom, which are fantastic and the beds are extremely comfortable.
Now with all that, it's a shame that the welcome was less than warm and requests for dinner bookings to be made, though carried out, seemed more an annoyance than anything else. We did not eat breakfast here because better was available outside.
With such great bathroom facilities, why only heat the floor in one? Most of all, a window covering in the bathroom would have been nice for privacy....and bring your own shower cap.
We liked this hotel for its uniqueness and break from tradition and of course, position. With a few tweaks fixed, we would give it a 5.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mookiandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel Quatorze looks like design and functionality had a fight and design won. Everything looks very sleek and modern in white, grey and black. Unfortunately there are also a number of drawbacks in this design frenzy. We had a deluxe room on the first floor, which again on first sight looked nice and modern, if a tad on the small side and had all the amenities one would expect from a 4-star hotel, flat screen TV, mini bar, safe, bath robes, slippers, bottle of water, toiletries. The bed was comfortable, the sheets nice and crisp. The room had a separate toilet and rather unusually 2 sinks in the room behind the bedhead. A walk in shower, which was also in the room, completed the design. As I said before it all looks very nice, but…
The lack of privacy with sink and shower in the bedroom might put some peoples off.
The sinks are far too small to be of any use and the plug holes cannot be closed. At least we didn't work out how to.
If you are a vigorous shower user you run the danger of flooding the room as there is no separation between shower and rest of the room.
Wardroom space is a joke. There is nowhere to hang jackets and coats and if you put them in the wardrobe there is no space for anything else.
The under floor heating for the sink area can only be turned on or off by kneeling on the floor as the switch is underneath the sink.
The interior walls seem to be just stud work with plasterboard, so sound insulation is practically nonexistent. Certainly we could hear the people in the next room very clearly.
There only seems to be one person at reception at any one time. When we checked in the woman on reception excused herself as we walked in and then disappeared for 5 minutes. At breakfast there was no staff in the breakfast room to take your order. Again, after about 5 minutes a woman appeared to take our drinks order.
On the whole, the hotel looks nice, if a bit cramped, but there are some flaws and at 210 Euros for a deluxe room and a whopping 36 euros for 2 average breakfasts it certainly is not value for money.
Would I stay again, only if they reduce the price drastically.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gbdech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

we had booked the rooms via email for a weekend with friends. The confirmation was for one deluxe room ( even smaller ) and one executive room with kingsize bed. ( which we did not have )
The 2 of us arrived at 13h and the reception had no real warm welcome just asked for the name and stated the room will be available at 14h. Could we leave our luggage here and park the car in the approx. 200m away parkhouse ? As there is no parking at the Hotel, it is in a small one-way-street. Ooops, your room is ready now. 2. Floor in an old building has low ceilings, the room was not very big but as the bathroom was open it suggested a more spacious room.
Unfortunately that also did mean when taking a shower or bath, the heat/humidity will go into the room and keeps it a bit damp. Okay, it was only for one night but € 208.00 just for the room is on the high side. Parking, 15.00, and Breakfast, 18.00 pp, to add.
Breakfast was a small buffet as the room was small as well and did seat only 14 people, the Hotel has 13 rooms, not sure how they handle that when completely booked.
Positive, the Hotel had a very modern/designed interior, not always practical and a cold look. If you like that, perfect but for us it did miss atmosphere despite that we are fans of good design.
Would we go back ? No, too expansive, and November had discount prices !

Room Tip: If you are tall avoid the 2. floor rooms due to low ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Colmar. I came here during Christmas and it was perfect - the ambience, location and rooms were wonderful. Christmas in Colmar is a must do for all ages, the Christmas markets and quaint houses lit up with lights is just the place to celebrate the festive season. I will be back again with my daughter, the next time.

Location: it is on a quiet street but very conveniently located to the main area where all the markets are, about 10 mins walk in the cold. But so pretty! It took us about 25 minutes to walk
To the train station but it was relatively easy to navigate.

Ambience/Decor : this hotel is hip and it manages to find the balance between being trendy without being overbearing. The rooms are well appointed and gives the feeling of staying in someone's modern home. The rooms are small but well decorated and planned. The beds are super comfortable and linen and towels are changed twice a day. My only problem with the design is the showers. There is no door so the water tends to leak into the room as it is an pen open concept bath room (sinks are behind your bed) so that can be troublesome.

Amenities: wifi signal is strong in the room and there is wide selection of teas in the room.there is ample information on Colmar from the reception. Aesop toiletries were provided, which I absolutely love!

Food: breakfast has an excellent selection of breads and hams. It was well stocked!

Service: the best service in France so far. People were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helloelizabethtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colmar hotels
0.4 mi away
James Boutique Hotel
James Boutique Hotel
#1 of 39 in Colmar
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Colombier
Hotel le Colombier
#7 of 39 in Colmar
937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Rapp Hotel
Le Rapp Hotel
#22 of 39 in Colmar
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison des Tetes
La Maison des Tetes
#6 of 39 in Colmar
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colombier Suites
Hotel Colombier Suites
#27 of 39 in Colmar
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quatorze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quatorze

Address: 14 rue des Augustins, 68000, Colmar, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range: $130 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quatorze 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quatorze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing