We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fixed price meals”
Review of Wistub Brenner

Wistub Brenner
Reserve with
Wistub Brenner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 286 Restaurants in Colmar
Price range: $28 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Beautiful Winstub from Colmar in the heart of the Little Venice in Colmar. Home made dishes guaranteed by the label "Maitre Restaurateur. We offer an authentic and classic Alsatian cuisine with daily suggestions. With friendly service you will enjoy your time.
Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious fixed price meals”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ate here on a Wednesday evening in September. It was a warm evening so we ate outside which was very pleasant - it filled up after we arrived, but our service was very good. They have fixed price meals where you can choose the number of courses and substitute items with daily specials. Excellent Ziebel Kuchen as appetizers, my husband had the Alsatian meat pie and I had the fish special, plum tart for dessert. Good selection of local wines. We thought it was reasonably priced and it was fun to people watch while we ate. It is located near the canal in Little Venice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    311
    111
    56
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Negative numbers are appropriate to describe the worst restaurant I've ever been”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I can't talk about the food (poor, very poor quality) because that's not the point. We waited half an hour to get served. They didn't bring us the drinks we ordered (they came after the entrees and after a reminder). We ordered a second caraffe of wine: it was served late and without the content of two glasses that were wrongly served to another table. Never been to a place worst than this. To avoid, at any means

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Oaks, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST sauerkraut and sausage ever!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the BEST Alsacian food I've ever had and the best sauerkraut and sausages ever! The boiled potatoes soaked up the juicy flavor. But, you'd better go with a hefty appetite or you'll never finish what's on your plate. It was especially good with an ice cold pression!
The service was a bit slow to start, but well worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oonarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hearty, decent food...shame about the service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Busy evening, I can understand that. Waiting an hour for a beer and having to ask four times for a bottle of water not so much. Then topping it off with half an hour of waiting for the check. Two hours at the place, maybe fifteen minutes of actually eating or drinking. Those fifteen minutes were fine. But in the end definitely not worth the annoyance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Runar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good well cooked food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a busy restaurant in the heart of the Little Venice area of Colmar, and reservations are recommended. You can eat inside or out. I had the best steak frites of the holiday, and a wonderful creme brulee. There seemed to be a lot of locals in eating when we were there, which is always a good sign. Service was very good. We dined here two nights out of four, and the quality of the food was very good on both occasions

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wistub Brenner also viewed

 

Been to Wistub Brenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing