We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening”
Review of Wistub Brenner

Wistub Brenner
Reserve with
Wistub Brenner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 284 Restaurants in Colmar
Price range: $28 - $37
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful Winstub from Colmar in the heart of the Little Venice in Colmar. Home made dishes guaranteed by the label "Maitre Restaurateur. We offer an authentic and classic Alsatian cuisine with daily suggestions. With friendly service you will enjoy your time.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wisely made a reservation for Wistub Brenner for the first night of our visit to Colmar. The restaurant is small but we were fortunate to have a terrace table and ate under the stars. The service was slow because of the limited staff but all of the girls were so hospitable that we didn't mind. The food is excellent and beautifully presented. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteelerfanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    309
    107
    55
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
243 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This restaurant is located in the ‘little Venice’ area of Colmar. It’s a pretty little place with maybe a dozen tables. My husband and I split escargot and they provided lots of bread to dip in the garlic butter. We then had their onion tart and creamy pumpkin soup that came in a mason jar. Along with lunch we a local dry Riesling and house beer. Everything was really tasty and lunch was about $58.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ-LGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We thought the meals in Croatia were big but our meals at Wistub Brenner were equally as big. We had a great meal but didn't order dessert because we had already eaten too much delicious food. We had 6 oysters fin claire, the choucroute garni with five meats, and the pork cheeks braised in Pinot Noir. We also had a bottle of very good Wolfberger 2010 Pinot Noir (a local organic wine). I would have liked to try the creme brûlée but common sense prevailed, unfortunately. If we come here again I will order a starter (maybe two) and a dessert. The bill was a very reasonable €62 (approx $80).

Helpful?
2 Thank Les36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food Alsacian style”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want to taste the variety of flavors of Alsace food, this is the place for you. Very tiny inside but worth the wait. Staff was friendly and helpful with our limited French. There was a group of business people in the restaurant with us and we wanted to join them as they were having so much fun! Great food & service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseatexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Taste of Alcase”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely location; lovely food; lovely wine; & lovely staff - but take your phrase-book! Try the local Sylvaner or Riesling; not what you might have expected from Alsace wines some years ago - well balanced with a fragrant palate and a long finish. Excellent value too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wistub Brenner also viewed

 

Been to Wistub Brenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing