We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant fish resaurant”
Review of Aux Trois Poissons

Aux Trois Poissons
Ranked #12 of 297 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $66
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A very pleasant fish restaurant located just opposite the indoor food market, it’s in a nice spot alongside the water and has both inside and outside seating. Staff were all very friendly and mostly spoke good English. There was also an English version of the menu available which is always useful. There wasn’t a massive choice of dishes to choose from, but I’d much rather go for quality over quantity any day and we were very pleased with what we chose. There were three or four regional specialities included, and the extensive wine list also included a good number of local choices.

An amuse bouche of salmon on a small biscuit was enjoyed whilst we perused the menu. The Tuna Tartare had unfortunately run out, but we offered a Salmon Gravadlax in it’s place which was very nice. Another starter of fish salad was also pretty good, although I’m never going to get too excited about a salad! A main course of “Matelote Reisling” was a selection of river fish with mushrooms and pasta in a wine sauce was a very enjoyable dish.

All in all we thought this was a very pleasant restaurant in a nice spot and I would definitely recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilles s, Propriétaire at Aux Trois Poissons, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014
Google Translation

bonjour
merci pour votre avis concernant notre restaurant .
la direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 396 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

It was a pleasure to find the Trois Poissons open and fully refurbished. We had the 32€menu with prawns , pike/perch , creme brûlée. Washed down by a bottle of Old Vines Reisling by J- P Adams. Food was beautifully cooked and the service was immaculate. Very nice ambience with our neighbours from Italy and France exchanging a few favourable comments on the food. This place is well worth a visit if you like fish and you are a foodie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilles s, Propriétaire at Aux Trois Poissons, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks a lot for your kind comments and your support.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

In mid September 2012 I went to visit this beautiful place only to find it still smoldering from a fire that had happened in the previous night.
The upper portion of the building including the owners apartment were almost completely destroyed, the restaurant had also sustained major damage.
Later that day I met the owners who despite having lost their home and their livelihood were adamant that they would rebuild, and so they did.
It reopened in early August and gradually came up to speed. On my recent visit in December I found the restaurant beautifully redecorated, still with Frederic the head waiter and some of the best food I have had in France.
So far as prices go it is mid range but the quality of the food and service elevate the place way above what one would expect in this price range.
It is great to have Aux Trois Poissons back again and I look forward to visiting it in the spring.
Tip: Please check the opening times. At the time of writing they were closed Sunday night & all day Monday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank the-wandering-fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spanking new interior, bright and clean (the place burned down not long ago and has been handsomely redone). Attentive service and a perfectly paced meal. All dishes were excellent: for starters, quenelles de brochet and cassoulet d'escargots (not seafood, but had to try it), followed by aile de raie and some beautiful poached scallops. A dessert of various sorbets drowning in Calvados was a refreshing treat. Decent wine list with some local stuff. Reservations recommended, but grovelling works too...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NinthCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved, loved, loved this place.
It is located in the Little Venice part of Colmar, slightly out of the very touristy crowded streets but still very central. We ate inside. The decor is fresh and clean, not tacky/cluttered as in some other restaurants trying too hard to look "local."
Service was prompt and food was delicious and very fresh.
I had: the fish soup (a bit too salty, but very tasty) and the seared tuna appetizer with seaweed salad. The appetizer was certainly large enough to be an entree.
My husband had the grilled sardines appetizer (so tasty and fresh, not too 'fishy' as some sardine dishes can be) and the monkfish medallions on pea puree. Everything was just top notch.
We shared the heavenly "floating island" meringue/creme anglaise dessert.
The only thing I'd caution against is ordering "tee citron" - for EUR 3.20 I basically got a cup of hot water with one slice of lemon floating in it. In Belgium, where I now live, they tend to put a huge amount of lemon in and I was expecting something like that.
Our total for the above plus wine and espresso for my husband came to EUR 83. Totally worth it in my mind.
Good service too, and one of the servers spoke English.
If you want a break from meat/cheese/cream/more meat everywhere else in Colmar, I can't imagine you can do better than this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Trois Poissons also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Aux Trois Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing