We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the sea, great seafood”
Review of Aux Trois Poissons

Aux Trois Poissons
Ranked #15 of 286 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $62
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Far from the sea, great seafood”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spanking new interior, bright and clean (the place burned down not long ago and has been handsomely redone). Attentive service and a perfectly paced meal. All dishes were excellent: for starters, quenelles de brochet and cassoulet d'escargots (not seafood, but had to try it), followed by aile de raie and some beautiful poached scallops. A dessert of various sorbets drowning in Calvados was a refreshing treat. Decent wine list with some local stuff. Reservations recommended, but grovelling works too...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NinthCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    114
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
559 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 807 helpful votes
“totally awesome!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved, loved, loved this place.
It is located in the Little Venice part of Colmar, slightly out of the very touristy crowded streets but still very central. We ate inside. The decor is fresh and clean, not tacky/cluttered as in some other restaurants trying too hard to look "local."
Service was prompt and food was delicious and very fresh.
I had: the fish soup (a bit too salty, but very tasty) and the seared tuna appetizer with seaweed salad. The appetizer was certainly large enough to be an entree.
My husband had the grilled sardines appetizer (so tasty and fresh, not too 'fishy' as some sardine dishes can be) and the monkfish medallions on pea puree. Everything was just top notch.
We shared the heavenly "floating island" meringue/creme anglaise dessert.
The only thing I'd caution against is ordering "tee citron" - for EUR 3.20 I basically got a cup of hot water with one slice of lemon floating in it. In Belgium, where I now live, they tend to put a huge amount of lemon in and I was expecting something like that.
Our total for the above plus wine and espresso for my husband came to EUR 83. Totally worth it in my mind.
Good service too, and one of the servers spoke English.
If you want a break from meat/cheese/cream/more meat everywhere else in Colmar, I can't imagine you can do better than this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect service, perfect food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Most people don't think of seafood when they think of Alsace. Aux Trois Poissons will change your mind. We selected this restaurant as our "last dinner in France" spot and we were very glad we did. It's a white-tablecloth establishment with gracious service and excellent food. I had moules marinieres for my starter and they were cooked flawlessly. And as with any respectable Alsatian restaurant, their choucroute was fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieJ1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure, but”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I didn't expect a seafood restaurant in the Alsatian foothills, but chalk that up to north american naivete. Colmar has been renowned for its seafood for centuries. Friends of ours had visited here the month before and were so impressed they gave the chef a standing ovation. You need a reservation for this restaurant, as it is very well known. Atmosphere was a bit cramped. I would definitely recommend it but also think it was expensive and a bit pretentious.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Closed for now at least - burned. :(”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Walked by this restaurant on the way to another that the woman at the desk in our hotel suggested, and planned to go here tomorrow night. Sadly, it caught on fire and we aren't experts, so I don't know if it will need to be leveled or can be repaired. All of the roof but some cross beams are gone and we could tell most of the inside was burned too. No idea what the owners will do, we stood for a bit in awe with a decent sized crowd of locals who had just discovered the damage as well. I think it had just happened yesterday or this morning. :(

Helpful?
4 Thank Tspoon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Trois Poissons also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Aux Trois Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing