We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alsace good with Style”

Wistub de la Petite Venise
Ranked #17 of 286 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Alsace good with Style”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were despairing of finding an evening meal that did not leave us feeling distinctly uncomfortable. Here we found local food cooked with a difference. The portions were reasonable and the dishes had touches that made all the difference, the soup with tuna rillette on toast was delicious and the meatballs made a very good main. It is in a very pretty part of town and gets busy so a reservation is advised

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pittville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    338
    88
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better choices in Petite Venise”
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Dinner for two was less than impressive. Our fois gras appetizer was a good start but things went downhill from there. My wife's charcuterie plate was okay but we had better at other Colmar restaurants. My canard was dry & the sautéed potatoes that accompanied it underwhelming. After dinner we ordered desert & coffee. After 10 minutes we were told the pear tart was no longer available. It took another 15 minutes for the substitute chocolate dessert to arrive. The coffee never did.
There are much better choices in both the quality of the food, service and overall value in Petite Venise.

Helpful?
3 Thank nmjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We did very much like the food and ambience. Service was good but the waitress spoke the fastest French known to mankind but then flipped over into the fastest English - barely intelligible even in my native tongue. We didn't much like Dido music played in a loop. On balance the food quality makes this a 4* rating.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Little things mean a lot.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Special focus of detail, salad leaves bad, when mentioned, I place of apology and replacement, they offered a clean plate so that I can take bad leaves and put in in the plate!

They atmospher is very nice and authentic. They do need to improve the service and do not make an assumption that only the tourists visit there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rezmataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We ate here several times because it was so close to our hotel. We had salmon over lentils, which was spectacular. We always ordered Alsatian Muskat wine with our meals, served in the typical green stemmed wine glasses. A saxophonist played during all our meals there. The waitresses were all very nice and helpful to us, especially considering that we don't speak French.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelynMcCrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wistub de la Petite Venise also viewed

 

Been to Wistub de la Petite Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing