We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious dinner in a delightful setting”
Review of Maison rouge

Maison rouge
Ranked #34 of 284 Restaurants in Colmar
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a delightful setting”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate dinner here with good friends who now live in Switzerland. The meal was outstanding, as was the service. Our waitress was French who enjoyed speaking in English with us. We sampled pate, escargots, delicious entrees and wines. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    235
    67
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
658 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Really bad service, OK food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Being a waitress for 10 years, I rarely complain about service. I understand, you get busy, you can forget things, but the service here was painfully slow, scattered, unapologetic and at times rude. The food was just OK - my tarte but singed around the edges and not fully cooked in the centre, my husband's steak was presented beautifully but the sauce lacked the flavour you expect in France. We would have loved to try some local wine, but our server was no where to be seen and when we did order some, it never arrived. For the price we expected so much more. Perhaps an off night, but there are lots of choices in this city, I would never choose this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food in atmospheric setting”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The restaurant has a warm and attractive appearance from outside, with meat roasting on a spit in front of the door.
All the restaurants in Colmar were very busy, and this was no excepton, but they found a table for us in a downstairs room, not quite as atmospheric as upstairs, pehaps, but less frenetic. Service was very pleasant, and quite swift considering how busy they were.
We chose their Planchette du Vigneron, which was a wooden platter stacked with the meat we had seen roasting on the spit, cheeses, fruits, salads, fresh bread. That, and a reasonably-priced Biere d'Automne was as much as we managed.
Very good value, and I would love to go back there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ski_Wrinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“an excellent lunch”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had lunch here. I think I enjoyed the specialty of the house, ham carved off the bone, along with a salad and some excellent potatoes. I'd gladly return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ichabod777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good traditional restaurant”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This restaurant is popular with the local people, and for a good reason: it serves good quality traditional Alsacien food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Winnubst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison rouge also viewed

 

Been to Maison rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing