We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional food in ancient surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Pfeffel

Restaurant Pfeffel
Ranked #54 of 282 Restaurants in Colmar
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Traditional food in ancient surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This recently refurbished house carries a history of its own. The proprietor has focused on local style food, and wisely so. The delicacies of Alsace has so much to offer. Service is impeccable, staff friendly and informative, and the food tasty and representative of the region. Good selection of local wine from top producer Domaine Schoffit. Very good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    199
    129
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Unspectacular but good-value food, excellent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent. Very fast, cheery and friendly. This even though the restaurant was absolutely full. Main courses (choucroute) were served piping hot and of generous portion size. Main complaint being that the flavour was blander than others I have had. Still, was only €13 so I felt good value anyway. Flammenkuchen is also popular here, but I also have definitely had better. Most inexpensive Riesling wine on wine list was still surprisingly good.

This restaurant is definitely of the laminated menu, "stack em deep and sell 'em cheap", variety, however just manages to pull it off with the decent value and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Late morning snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

While waiting for our bus back to our river boat, we stopped at this restaurant for some liquid refreshments but went further and ordered a plain tort flambé which was crepe-like and pizza-like. It was topped with a cream sauce minced bacon, and onions -- a very tasty and light snacks. service was friendly and prompt. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank uilamaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well-known Restaurant, quite easy to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very pleasant restaurant, portions usual Alsace size ( i.e. large ), so, as it was lunch time, we stuck to salads. Friendly service, beer and wine quite cheap ( local ).
A very good location, near to Musee Unterlinden ( well worth a visit )

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant close to the Musee Underlinden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Light lunch of 2 flambee's with side salads plus beers and an expresso for €35.10 we regarded as reasonably priced. Sitting outside, it was an ideal place to rest before more sightseeing. Portions were very generous and the other Alsatian dishes on the menu would have left us no room for dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forestaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pfeffel also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Pfeffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing