We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite spot in Colmar”
Review of l'Arpege

l'Arpege
Ranked #6 of 286 Restaurants in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Colmar”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We visited Arpege last weekend on our first trip to Colmar. What a wonderful experience! We dined outside in the garden where there was a good mix of people -- both young & old, families, couples, locals, visitors -- and a warm, inviting atmosphere. The service was impeccable! The owners are friendly, extremely hardworking, and passionate about what they do. They went out of their way to explain & translate the menu for us and to make us feel at home. They are committed to sourcing all of their ingredients from local farms and producers. The vegetables were the highlight of the meal -- fresh and creatively prepared. The wines were excellent as well. I look forward to returning some day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    147
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Emphasis”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The new owners have a vegetarian philosophy (some meat/fish is on the menu) and their passion shows in the food. Very pleasant ambience and very charming people - not for carnivores though. Good wines.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service, veg options at bio restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We picked this organic restaurant because it had vegetarian options (I am a veg, but went with 5 non-veg's). The waiter was very friendly, he spoke excellent english but also let us try to sort ourselves in french. The seasonal vegetable sides were everyone's favorite part of the meal, generally the food was good. It is a bit pricey, but that's probably because the products are all 'bio'.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xquezma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I hadn't been to Arpege for some years, and didn't know they had recently changed ownership, as the name and outside of the building remained the same. Since our hotel reported that the phone was continually busy, we stopped in to make a reservation, and found that our quiet, almost staid, classic French restaurant was no more.

Instead the young new managment was having a Gypsy music event, with a small set menu. They were almost full, and the only table left on the patio was one table back from the band. Since our other favorite restaurant in Colmar, Aux Trois Poissons, was closed that night, and not knowing where else to go, we somewhat reluctantly booked a table. Feeling sad at giving up our quiet romantic dinner plans.

And were we glad that we did. The dinner was wonderful, with large portions of excellent food, and much much cheaper than under the previous management. The Gypsy band, although much louder than we had been led to expect, was a delight. We left wondering if the new management can afford to continue to offer that quantity, and that quality, at that price. We hope they can, so that we can come back next year.

It would be a plus if the Gypsies were there again too....

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemutlich2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good restaurant - but where is everyone?”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were amazed to find this restaurant almost empty on a Thursday evening. The food was very good, classic French style with a modern twist. All choices available. Service was friendly and very chatty, discussing the details of what was on offer eand served (perhaps because the place was very quiet). No parking, it's in the middle of the pedestrian area down a little alleyway.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodhake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Arpege also viewed

 

Been to l'Arpege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing