We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely romantic weekend for 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Belfort
Wuenheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic weekend for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was a little sceptical about this hotel, having read the reports, but it was perfect for what we needed. We spent one night in a room directly opposite the Lion de Belfort on the night of the 13th July 2013, where we had a bird's eye view of a fantastic firework display to the music of Edith Piaf. The hotel is perfectly positioned for the town centre, although a lot of it is is being dug up to be re-paved/re-laid. Breakfast was simple, but tasty. We got a good deal for an overnight weekend booking, and a parking space was made available for us in the hotel car park. We had air conditioning which was fortunate given the high temperature.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lion has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloisa L, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted for your wonderful feedback about your stay at the Tonneau D'Or, and I would like to thank you for your kind words about our services.

It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your romantic weekend and that you could have an excellent view of the fireworks from your room.

We all look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Belfort.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    69
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
58
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

you should arrive after sunset so hat you can catch a glimpse of the glamorous facade and the gorgeously decorated warmly lit windows hat welcome you to a cozy stay. Entering the hall you will be overwhelmed by the rich Rokoko decor and the Tiffany Windows. The staff is most helpful in giving orientation about sights and gold dining and places where to sample good Alsacian wine.
The rooms are not too spacious, the beds are comfortable, bath and toilet are in separate rooms and the well-isolated window-panes make sure that your sleep is sound and tight.
Unless you need a quick breakfast you should make the effort to find a nice Café in the neighbourhood where you can have a ham and cheese sandwich and coffee for much less than the 13 Euros that the hotel charges for their buffet.
Check-out is quick and and as simple as check-in. On leaving you look back at a charming Palace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloisa L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with the rest of online users.

It is always very rewarding to read such as positive comments like yours that encourage our staff to strive to do as much as possible to encounter our guests satisfaction.

We also take note about your feedback about the breakfast so we can improve our services for the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonneau D'Or during your next visit to Belfort.

Yours sincerely,

Eloisa Latorre
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel have great location right in center of Belfort, all urban infrastructure and attractions in walking distance. I would say this is good place but general impression was spoiled when we got not what we paid. We had booking of big room Comfort but in the case we got standart little room what absolutelly not consistent with the photos from booking site :(
Anyway i would not say it was bad room, all the stuff is new, room is clean, bed is comfortable. Minus is not enough place and a bit cold, heating is dosent work.
I just very like bathroom, very nice and comfortable, was always nice to spent some time there after freezing in the room.
I would not say stuff is so friendly there, of course they are did what we asked but i always had a feeling that i disturbing of them. Just woman in restaurant was pleasant and friendly.
In my general view i can recommend this hotel, is pretty pleasant and quite place with good service but it was expensive price what we paid especially when we are overpaid for what we didn't get and also brekfast is paid there. Seems like quality does not match the price in a manner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloisa L, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Belfort.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your experience with the rest of online users and with us. It is our goal to reach all our clients expectations, therefore your feedback is important to us.

We have taken note of your observation about the temperature in the room. We are sorry the front-desk staff made you the wrong impression, we always try to help as much as possible our guests to make them feel like home.

Thank you again for you comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Eloisa
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Lovely building in a super town. Nice modern rooms and very professional staff. I did have a suite, which I would suggest is worth the extra cost over a smaller room. You would not be at this hotel on a tight budget so splurge a bit more and this hotel will leave you charmed.

Room Tip: Book ahead for a good deal on a suite. Its France, so ask for a 'special offer'. There are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Good and comfortable hotel. I just spent one night there, but it was enough to have a good impression. Good breakfast, decent room, nice service.

As negative point, some installations at the hall need some painting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugolpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

You enter an impressing lobby. Than, inside your door a long hall. And at last you step into a quite small (11m2) room. Only one chair (at the desk.) I expect at least two armchairs with a small table, in a room with this pricetag. But space for that was missing. On the bed just a blanket that kept beeing unfriendly to the sheet. Pillows are seldom a problem for me. But her it was of an extremly uncomfortable kind. Hard, high. Syntethic filling with no ventilation. 13€ for breakfast don´t suits me. (Don´t eat much in the morning.)
On the positive side: Location near "Vieux Ville", waterboiler, minibar, separate WC/bath, free parking (but how safe? Open to the street all night.), silent room (facing the parking.), 32" TV with a lot of channels. Excellent in/out-checking hours (Both noon.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belfort hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for 3 nights. The exterior and foyer of the hotel are stunning and it appears to be a "grand" hotel.
But the rooms are not at that level although acceptable ( beds coul dhav ebeen firmer and not cause us to roll towards the middle).
And each is somewhat different as the 3 different groups of us found out. One had large French windows but no A/C ( which had been requested), the other 2 had A/C but were more modern in style (yet both had bathroom doors made of some type of fiberboard that had been exposed to water and were falling apart atthe lower ends).
Parking is around the back and not easy to find especially with the one way streets in that area.

Room Tip: Higher floors were away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfort hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Belfort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Capucins
0.2 mi away
Atria Novotel Belfort Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Belfort Centre
0.3 mi away
Brit Hotel Belfort Centre - Le Boreal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Belfort
Hotel Kyriad Belfort
#4 of 12 in Belfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or

Property: Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or
Address: 1, Rue Reiset, 90 000 Belfort, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Territoire de Belfort > Belfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Belfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing