We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Belfort
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very good hotel with excellent location in Town - close to the old town and Cathedral - excellent bars ond restaurants in Cathedral Square (good for sitting and people watching)

Avoid the breakfast in Hotel - expensive and not much choice sure could have done better in a local cafe

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have got the king bed room which was lovely decorated. Very comfertable and large. The view was poor. The bath was nice and clean and tge toilet was in a seperate room. The breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleLadybug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I spent one night at the Tonneau d'Or and it was a great surprise! Excellent value for money, spacious modern and clean rooms. In addition the staff is very friendly and always ready to give you all the information you need. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alessandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We were surprised that this hotel was rated 3 stars as it has 4 star quality. We would definately stay here again. Large comfortable rooms and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zosimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights from Friday 14 May 2010 in order to meet a student at the UTBM university. We had previously stayed at the Novotel (which is on the north side of the old town) but they wanted twice the price this time of the Grand du Tonneau. This is located on the south side of the old town and therefore much closer to the shopping area and a shorter walk to the station (about 10 minutes).

The building has a grand opening hall and staircase upto the first floor. At the entrance level is Reception and a PC with free internet access. Off a side corridor is the breakfast rooms. The hotel's main restaurant is closed and notices said that part of the business is for sale.

Our room on the second floor was 237. It was one of two specially designed rooms for handicapped guests. We did not request this and dont know why we got it. It had specially adapted door openings, toilet, wide spaces, and walk in shower. Its two beds were comfortable. It had however a rather austere feel to it. Room numbering on the floor was odd with ours being out of sequence with others - almost as if added as an afterthought.

During our stay a group of cyclists were staying and they had a breakfast room allocated to them. Our breakfast room was smaller. There was a modest selection of cold dishes as a buffet. It cost €12.00 which was a lot compared with better breakfasts elsewhere but the staff were friendly.

A local artist was using the hotel to display a selection of his drawings and we bought one. There were some lovely stainless statues adorning the staircase and hall.

We paid €64.00 per night, pre-paid plus breakfast.

Most other guests seemed to be from the adjoining German speaking area of Switzerland. Their common language with hotel staff appeared to be English.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This hotel is located in the heart of the old town of Belfort near good restaurants and shops. It is in a very attractive old building with a great lobby that is well decorated with a few pieces of modern art. The rooms were larger than many American hotel rooms and were very nice. What was more impressive than the rooms was the price. This hotel is a great value, which I am sure is as much a function of Belfort prices as anything else. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Belfort, regardless of their budget.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Really amazing !!!
This hotel was a big surprise for us.
We were welcome by a great hall just like a nineteenth-century palace with a long elegant staircase.
Then the rooms were wide and clean with tv, water, bathtub, hair-dryer, mini-bar, map of a city and a sweet
The staff was very kind (we're lost in Belfort while arriving and by mobile they gave us the right suggestions with patience)
The breakfast was good and very complete
At last the price was embarrassing low for all this services.
So what can you ask for more ?
The only spot was Belfort... it's similar to a ghost town... beautiful city but too much human-icy

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank luccaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfort hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Capucins
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Belfort
0.3 mi away
Brit Hotel Belfort Centre - Le Boreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Belfort
Hotel Kyriad Belfort
#5 of 12 in Belfort
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Belfort Centre
0.2 mi away
Atria Novotel Belfort Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or

Address: 1 rue du Gal Marie Antoine Reiset, 90000 Belfort, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Territoire de Belfort > Belfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Belfort
Price Range: $72 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel du Tonneau d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing