We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meal”
Review of Taurus - CLOSED

Taurus
Price range: $12 - $34
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visited on a hot summer evening having booked a table after reading previous reviews. We were given a table near one of several large windows which were completely open. This allowed a cool breeze into the room and a view of the scores of customers sitting outside at tables on Canal Street.
The staff were friendly and helpful (though I did get a different beer to the one I ordered - it was ok so no problem).
The choice of food was reasonable. I had crab cakes followed by fish and chips, my wife had the spring roll followed by the the belly of pork. My daughter had the burger (can't remember her starter!).
The portions were generous and the food very tasty. We were unable to have any desserts as we were all too full.
The final bill was very reasonable for what we had.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and would definitely come here again.
Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

So glad to hear you had a lovely time, and especially that you got a window seat! Those seats are like gold dust sometimes!

Hopefully next time we will leave you with enough room for our homemade desserts! Apologies about your beer, but glad it wasn't an issue. A beer on us next time I think!

Thanks for the taking the time out to leave feedback. Hope to see you all soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 271 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

When you 1st walk in the staff are friendly but the decor is very dark and not very colourful.
We booked a table and was given 1 near the big windows. We ordered 2 fish & chips, oriental salmon and a Cajun chicken burger.
What we received was unbelievable, you would have thought we was in a very posh restaurant with the lay out and the quality of the meal. On this note the reviews on the tripadvisor came up trumps again.
I would recommend anyone to visit and have a meal.
Couldn't say a bad word about the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Really glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! We'll make sure you get a nice, bright table in the window next time! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I could never say a bad word about this place. Food is always excellent and the drinks are always great. They also have great cocktails.

I would always recommend this place as one of the most quality places on canal St.

Thank Fox M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for the great feedback and continued loyalty. We try our best to keep quality and standards high. Hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Dropped into Taurus on a Saturday lunchtime with wife. Not that busy but service was still spot on.

Order taken within a few minutes of being seated with good selection of veggie choices. Only waited around 20 mins for meal to arrive and my how we were impressed - especially liked the chips in the mini bucket!

Would definitely visit here again for food when again in town.

Thank Northern_Baggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you soon. Those buckets hold more fries than you expect... We're guilty!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely evening at Taurus. Cocktails were lovely and the food was fresh and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and efficient and it is lovely to be able to sit outside and enjoy the good weather

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chocco148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Really glad to hear you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to feed back. Hopefully there's still plenty of all fresco drinking and dining to be done this summer...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taurus also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing