We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic civil ceremony here............”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taurus - CLOSED

Taurus
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic civil ceremony here............”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and I chose to have our civil ceremony at taurus. We had a perfect day..........

When we chose taurus the owner gave us a manager's deatils who dealt with everything for us and was in constant contact with us to deal with any queries/worries. Which when planning a wedding there will always be lots! They were great and really put our minds at ease.

The food was fantastic, as it was so reasonably priced I was a bit sceptical as to what quality it would be, I needn't of worried, it was lovely and everyone at the reception commnented on how nice it was and how much choice there was. They gave us a choice of 5 different mains, which I was thought was great, as at any other wedding i've attended its usuallly a meat or veggie option.
Every course was served so quickly and efficiently, you could really see the organisation of the team of the staff they had on for the day, its that type of little detail that really made our day so perfect.
The team were all lovely and so professional, as someone who works in a customer service based profession, bad customer service is a real pet hate of mine, so I'm hard to please.
When we booked this place we had a hotel that matched the price of taurus but becuase of how accomadating and helpful they'd been when enquiring we decided to go with them, I'm really glad we did.
We both cannot reccomend this place enough, great staff, food, atmosphere and extremely reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spec21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ric B, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable day and look forward to seeing you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    73
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Taurus Winter Menu”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent Black Pudding and Rosti, lip-smacking linguine with chorizo and chili!!
Super menu, keenly priced, ambience as nuanced and as relaxed as usuual!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susiejuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had lunch at Taurus yesterday. As usual, food and service excellent. Taurus is simply the best place to visit on Canal Street...! Well done guys.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cawleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch here again today and the added bonus was that we could sit outside in the October sunshine. Food was as good as it always is, simple and tasty. Service is always great and very friendly. We reckon we are quite discerning and we keep returning here so that says a lot in my book. Thanks guys for always looking after us!!!

Helpful?
Thank MichaelManchester69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ric B, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I would just like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We work hard to keep up the standards of our menu and the quality of service.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Doesn't matter if it's the daytime, evening or Sunday menu it's all good”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have had food here many times and no matter what day or what time of day the food is great, the service is friendly and quick ( but not rushed ) always a great atmosphere and 100% Canal St's number 1

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityWarehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taurus also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing