We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world charm”
Review of Sam's Chop House

Sam's Chop House
Ranked #211 of 2,421 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Originally popped in for a drink, but stayed for lunch.
When you first walk into the place you are immediately drawn to the old man in the raincoat sitting at the bar. It's not until you get closer that you realise it is a bronze of the painter Lowry who was a frequent visitor. Nice touch.
The charm of the place takes you back to what the pubs in Manchester were like in days gone bye. You had to look twice at the ceiling and ask was that left from the days of smoking in public places or was it part of the decorating. Like others, the Corned Beef Hash is excellent and is not what you would expect [think of school meals and your a million miles off] but is a good choice . I followed with Lowry's favourite, the rice pudding.
For the wine buffs, there is a very good choice to choose from ranging in quality along with the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterVistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your visit, the bronze of Lowry is great and we have many guests having their photos taken with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 674 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Charming olde world pub in the centre of Manchester that does good food. The atmosphere is lovely and it is great for a break from shopping for lunch. The corned beef hash is my favourite topped with bacon and egg...Mmmmm yummy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 35KickinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Sam's Chophouse during your shopping trip. Corned Beef Hash an ideal lunch between shopping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went for lunch on Saturday and when we arrived via Back Pool Fold we were thinking Oh my God where is this place? But when you go inside it takes you back in time to the Victorian era. The welcome was warm and friendly, Sam's own real ale was very nice and the food was excellent. Between us we had corned beef hash starter, scallop starter with ham hock terrine followed by Fish and Chips and Bacon Chop - all were excellent. Highly recommend this pub but come to it from Chapel Walks rather than Back Pool Fold.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and great to hear you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. I believe I could eat their corned beef hash every day! Perfect bacon and poached egg with it. My mum had the fish and mushy pea bap which looked amazing too. I've been in here a few times and never been disappointed. Great value for money and always tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chocaholicmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks for your review and great to hear you enjoy the Corned Beef Hash and your mum enjoyed her food also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped off here for lunch on a Saturday afternoon , the food was lovely , corned beef hash with a perfect poached egg , very tasty indeed and it also comes in a smaller option with slightly different parts to it ... desert was creme brûlée , my favourite dessert , made to perfection but for me too much of it ! I always prefer it to be in a tiny cup or ramekin with just enough for 2 spoons .. just my preference, The New Zealand wine was lovely , perfectly chilled and served in a nice large sparkling glass...

There was lots of things on menu I would have tried and will definitely return soon
The staff were very attentive and polite , professional and had knowledge of the wine on offer by the glass...

I could have stayed in there all day but were meeting friends elsewhere , in future would meet them there , but would probably not leave !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sam's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing