We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allways a good night”
Review of Sam's Chop House

Sam's Chop House
Ranked #140 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Allways a good night”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly staff with brilliant food. Atmospheric with a great sense of the history of eating and drinking in Manchester

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    303
    117
    73
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Proper home made food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my third visit and I was not disappointed, I visited with my mum and we both opted for the steak and kidney pudding. Food delicious service efficient and friendly and lovely atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressive Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Called in on 13/04/13 before heading to the MEN Arena, we decided to risk not booking and just turn up. The staff were amazing, even though we had not booked they managed to fit us in without any problems. The food here is impressive, good old fashioned food with a modern twist to them, such as corned beef hash cakes, they were amazing. The food was quickly served, piping hot and the service was excellent. Cannot fault anything really, had a good wine list and an extensive beer and ale choice. Its just my opinion but i think this is probably the best pub/restaurant in Manchester!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and our corned beef hash cakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited at lunch time and had a lovely meal , It is in a central location if a little off the beaten track. Nice surroundings and expert advice on wine with a great selection to choose from.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bernard-j5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and its great you enjoyed your lunch, we pride outselves on our wine list and pleased to hear you had expert advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Even the veggie enjoyed it”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went for lunch and found a great spot. Both bar staff and waiting staff were friendly and offered a great service. We both picked the chip barm which we both enjoyed to the very last bite! The place was busy yet were we not rushed in an y way and the service was prompt.
The range of drinks on offer at the bar was really good from real ale to cider. The luch time bar menu allowed lots of choice even for a veggie.
We both really enjoyed our meals and drinks and were not left with a large lunch time meal bill at the end.
For anyone going to Manchester city center this is a great place to take lunch
The facilities were clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments great you both enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sam's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing