We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Chop House

Sam's Chop House
Ranked #127 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $72
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancs
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Traditional menu with great wines on offer, the deserts are amazing! Nice quiet atmosphere deep in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the city, a great retreat to relax with good food and excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trevorwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    287
    112
    71
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
weston super mare
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

while in Manchester visiting our son and his wife he booked a table in sams for the saturday evening and its not to be missed.The bar area was very busy but we went straight in and sat in the restaurant and ordered a drink from the bar which was bought to our table while we chose our food and wine.My son and i had the steak and kidney pudding which came with chunky chips and mushy peas,and was excellent.My wife had the liver and bacon and his wife a veggie soup which they both enjoyed.We had two bottles of wine one red and one white which although a little expensive was also very good.The two young ladies who served us were very friendly and this also helped to make our experience at sams very enjoyable.If you are in manchester i recommend you put sams chop house on your list of things to do but dont for get to book in advance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barryandmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovley!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

OOOOOOooooh Steak and Kidney pudding with gravy and chips.... forget the rest of the menu (although I'm sure it's probably just as nice)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

14 of us went for mine and my husbands birthday, food is gorgeous and great service, we booked last minute but they were really good at organising the customers so we could be seated together.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tillybud1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it was great to hear you had a good birthday celebration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pub food at it's best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ate here on Saturday 23rd March, Always book a table on a weekend if you want a table. The food is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesMc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sam's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing