We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub...”
Review of Sam's Chop House

Sam's Chop House
Ranked #147 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pub...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I popped in here on a couple of occasions over the weekend - we never tried the food but hugely enjoyed downing several pints, soaking up the amtosphere. Great service, great location, great atmosphere, Stella Black on tap - what more could we ask for?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFromBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    302
    117
    73
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You can't go every day”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a great place - good beer, a decent wine list, and food from a different century (in a good way). It's hard to get past the steak and kidney pudding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boriseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Reliving old times”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As a Manchester lad about town in the late 60's early 70's Sam's was the place to meet up before hitting the clubs, so my recent visit after about 20 years brought back some great memories. The place has changed a bit but the atmosphere is still great and the place still attracts the "on the towners". Staff welcoming despite being busy, Food in the restaurant is very good (British) The addition of the great L.S. Lowery standing by the bar makes the place even better. All in all this place is still a must for anyone visiting Manchester. Later this year I will be holding my retirement "DO" at Sam's with my work colleagues from out of town. There opinion will be worth reporting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Ok but pricey for a pub”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went with my better half as we fancied some nice comfort food on a cold day in manc!

The service was efficient & the beer was quoffable but far too cold. Partner had fish n chips served with mushy peas whilst i opted for steak pud & chips. The fish came in goujons which wasn't described on the menu & the mushy peas were, sad to say from a tin & illuminous green. However, fish was fine, batter lovely & chips defo home made. Steak pud was huge, tasty & packed with tender meat.

£13 for each meal in a side street pub is excessive, especially with tinned mushy peas. Would i go back? Probably not based on the price as i can eat in more comfort for less.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thelobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds & Germany
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Good food but very crowded and busy”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Brought a European client here. He wasn't impressed but is a fussy eater and not a city dweller. Bar area is hellishly loud and overcrowded and is a bit off-putting as a first impression. We were seated pretty quickly and our orders taken. One starter of corned beef hash had to go back as it was cold but to be fair it was knocked off the bill, brown onion soup was sublime, fish & chips looked pretty good too and my main course corned beef hash was excellent (though the starter dish is different to the main dish: it is in a kind of batter) and lacked some accompaniments of some kind. Desserts were small for the price. We dined early (19.30) and by the time we left the place was getting very crowded and the staff getting a bit stressed out. Would probably return but not necessarily in a hurry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sam's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing