We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service”
Review of Don Giovanni

Don Giovanni
Ranked #170 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $9 - $64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Don Giovanni is Manchester's oldest independently-owned Italian restaurant and has been feeding the public for over 30 years. Est. 1984. The restaurant has a large selection of vegetarian and gluten free dishes, and can make most dishes vegan to order. They also carry braille and large print menus, which are available on request. Adjacent to St Peter's Square, Don Giovanni sits in the heart of Manchester City Centre and is perfectly located for the theaters, Manchester Central, Bridgewater Hall, the AMC and many other attractions and shopping areas. The 150 cover restaurant boasts floor to ceiling windows, modern furnishings and a private dining room well suited for corporate meetings or for celebrating special occasions: equipped with full AV facilities including projector and screen. Be it intimate, celebratory or corporate dining, the restaurant is perfect for all occasions.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Went to Don Giovanni's on Friday 30 May. Our table was waiting for us, order taken promptly, nice chat about wine. Waited for nothing, and our food was served as quickly as anyone would hope for. My ravioli was excellent, and my husband really enjoyed his Saltimbocca. If I were to complain about anything, it was the fact one ladies' loo door didn't close properly and the other didn't have any loo roll.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    402
    183
    121
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had three meals recently and have not been disappointed. Staff really helpful and dare I say it certain pasta dishes better than in that well known restaurant in Manchester. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Again.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

WORST EXPERIENCE! We came here for a birthday meal and the food was horrible, the waiter was extremely rude and the waitress did not stop staring. They forgot the requirements we had specified on the phone and we had to send the food back as it was cold. We called the next day to speak to a manager and are still waiting to get a call back as the manager is always busy. I would never return here and would not recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food, awful manager”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have been to Don Giovanni for a romantic dinner with my girlfriend last Saturday.
The atmosphere was impeccable, really good interior design.
Food was really tasty, seafood risotto is a five stars!
Service was a bit slow, not many waiters for the number of customers.
But I was really annoyed by the behavior of the manager.
He didnt stop for a moment to look, from head to toe, at my girlfriend.
Really unprofessional behavior, the opposite of what is hospitality.
Not going there anymore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We selected from the pre-theatre menu and the food was lovely and the service was excellent. This is the third time i have eaten here and have never been disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Whitfi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Don Giovanni also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Hyde, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing