We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST CURRY EVER” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lal Qila Rusholme

Lal Qila Rusholme
Ranked #1,191 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Rusholme
Description: Lal Qila is on Rusholme’s Curry Mile along Wilmslow Road (Manchester’s answer to Brick Lane). It’s a large, relatively upmarket restaurant over two floors. The food is best described as Pakistani. Because everything is made to order, your dish can be as spicy or unspicy as you like it - a flexibility much appreciated by the locals, judging by the half Asian, half White British crowd filling the floor. Chef’s specials like the chicken chilli, lamb methi and chicken handi are very popular, as well as his ‘sizzler’ dishes. You’ll find all your traditional curry house favourites too, and accompanying Indian beers. Service is swift from the start when complimentary poppadoms are brought to your table. And the five-sauce chutney try is just 30p a person.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST CURRY EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

RATHER EAT VOMIT

I have been to 100's of Indian Restaurants from traveling across the UK. This 'restaurant' is by the far the worst. It should infact be shut down. The food was of the poorest quality. The chicken unedable and obviously reheated to the extent i couldn't cut it with a knife. I ordered coffee, recieved coke, I ordered popadoms and recieved none. The staff were extremely rude and when finally speaking to the manager he suggested that the problem was that I chose Chilli Chicken rather than an authentic indian dish. This seems a poor excuse seeing as they should be able to cook the food on their menu, completely ignorant to the fact that the POOR QUALITY of the chicken was my main concern. Similiarly my friends curry was equality as revolting. Both flavours and ingredients are just to far sub-standard for the price, or to pay for at all.

AVOID!

AVOID!

AVOID!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    98
    59
    49
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went to lal qila and took our guests with us for dinner there !
But the music was soooo loud that we could not even talk peacefully ! We were given the table in center but the place was soo conjugated ! Lighting was also not impressive ! Food was ok just like other reaturants not extra ordinary the name is sooo impressive though !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Memoona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“common”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

its not a decent place to go if you want to impress a person

the food was ok, but prices were a bit high for what it was

busy environment

overall a place I wouldn't go again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancoats
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lal Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We decided to give this restaurant another try due to a moderately good experience several years back. It was one of the biggest mistakes we have made due to the bad service and lack of respect for paying customers.

One of the immediate things you notice when entering the Lal Terrible is the carless attitude of the staff, one of which seemed to think dumping the menu's at the edge of our table with his back to us was acceptable.

The waiter who took the food order decided what sundries we wanted by pushingly repeating "three rice & three naan" which is not what we wanted.

Hot plates were placed on our table around 30-40 minutes before the mains arrived. Why aimlessly waste energy by heating plates for no reason?

Everything from the chairs to the uneven picture on the wall is caked in dirt, the toilets are filthy.

I would like to ask the owners of this establishment whether they think its acceptable to automatically assume diners want papadums without informing them that they are not complimentary.


Helpful?
1 Thank hungrysabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited last Saturday - 24th May - arriving around 5pm.Restaurant was not very busy and we were served straight away.Poppadoms and pickle tray brought without requesting so if you don't want this you will have to tell them.The four main courses with rice etc were served very quickly and were excellent.On this visit we would have no hesitancy in recommending this restaurant.It started to fill up as we were leaving but there were several waiting staff in attendance so service should hopefully be efficient because of this.There are many restaurants to choose from in this area.This is certainly one to try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank THORPER121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Qila Rusholme also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Lal Qila Rusholme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing