We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Manchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SAFFRONS

SAFFRONS
Ranked #1,471 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Relax in elegant surroundings and order straight from our grill menu. We offer an extensive range of items to keep everyone interested. The grill menu is available everyday from 4pm. Our specialities include T-Bone steak, Sirloin Strips (ask staff for details) and Sir-fried Chilli King Prawns to name but a few.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

When ever we have traveled to Manchester we eat at Saffrons, the atmosphere, staff and food is great. We have been eating at this restaurant since it has opened and have even traveled all the way from Dorset where we used to reside to eat here. We have also held some Birthday parties at Saffrons and the service & food was impeccable. Our children love the food (Especially the cakes and asian sweets) and they always are eager to grab a sweet or lollipop from the counter on the way out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Asaf I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    4
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went to try the buffet and was amazed at the selection available - The bombay potatoes were top (best ever, perhaps), the beef was cooked to the point it almost melted in the mouth. Chicken wasn't bad, but I didn't try the lamb (never been keen). It is pretty cool to have 3 types of curry on your plate stacked up with a few samosas and a handful of chips and a bit of naan to mop up with.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Raw meat!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Came here on nye and ordered the sizzling platters - meat was raw and couldn't finish our meal. Told the waiter when paying however he ignored us and just took our money.

Waiter was rude - kept saying my choice in food was boring. I don't know if this was a joke or he was trying to be funny but after 3 times of saying this - it does get annoying.
Shame he didn't say a word when we told him the meat was raw.

I don't think I will be going back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank kinnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unhygienic, dirty, poor quality food and service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was so disappointed when my drink arrived as a glass was dirty. I sent it back and they brought the same glass. So service was very disappointing. Food quality was horrible and whoever says otherwise, surely never been to a good Indian.
For what we paid we could have much better food somewhere els. The only nice thing about this restaurant is the interior of it. I looked at other reviews on some search engine and realized that right after every bad review there is perfect review regarding the same matter and it makes me wonder, do real people really rate this restaurant as a good restaurant???? How!!!???

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImoolitI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Decent food nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A nice selection of starters and main courses. We were there one quiet Sunday evening. The food seemed freshly prepared and was hot (except maybe the chicken Korma which looked a bit tired). Staff were friendly and attentive. Didn't pay too much attention to desserts as I was too stuffed by then. Good all round experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAFFRONS also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to SAFFRONS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing