We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant in good locality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
Ranked #107 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Less than 10 minutes' walk from the Manchester Arndale shopping centre, Deansgate and Manchester Opera House, Piccolino is a comfortable Italian restaurant in Manchester city centre. Situated on Clarence Street, Piccolino showcases a delicious variety of contemporary and traditional Italian dishes. Prepared in an open kitchen, you can observe the chefs as they create a range of rustic and straightforward Italian dishes using the freshest ingredients. Alongside popular dishes such as risottos, classic pasta options and stone-baked pizzas, the menu also features a succulent selection of meat and fresh fish courses. The Italian cuisine, prime location and friendly ambience all combine to make Piccolino Manchester ideal for an intimate dinner or a business lunch.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in good locality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had a meal here with my daughter who is a vegetarian.she had no problem getting something that catered for her tastes, I also had an enjoyable chicken pasta.
The service was excellent and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    293
    121
    76
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“cosy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

cosy place where to enjoy a very good italian food.
recipees and ingredients are tipically of Italian regions and the breath of different options really gives all the guests an easy opportunity to choose how to enjoy the lunch or dinner.
You can pick from fish to meat, delicious sides and starters.
location is, besides being pretty central, also very cosy and enjoyable
staff really works to help all the guests with chosing meal, wine, beer or dessert.
Lovely pancake night I had
Prices are reasonable considering the quality and quantity of food

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average all round”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went with a couple of friends on a Friday night, had a couple of garlic breads for starters which were nice and the wine was ok too. The ambience wasn't great. The restaurant was half empty but we were placed in the middle of the room rather than a more comfortable window area. Main courses were just average and we didn't fancy any of the selections on the puddling menu. We thought the prices were slightly high for the food and experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Been to Piccolino's a few times over the last number of years but was deeply disappointed by the quality of food and the service. It seemed that we where rushed all the way through and the food was very mediocre. My bill was wrong but sorted easily by a waiter and for what we had very over priced. Needless to say I will not be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Italian I have had in ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place is a must if you like Italian with good varied choice from Pizza, Pasta, meat and fish dishes. Great wine menu and not too dear. Nice setting and great service no matter how big your party is. I will be going back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing