We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaucho Manchester

Gaucho Manchester
Ranked #75 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Tram stop 10 minute walk away. free local bus from Piccadilly train station drops off 1 minute away. Victoria train station 10 minute walk away.
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
1 review
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nowhere as good as it used to be! Won't be rushing back, there are far better restaurants in Manchester serving better quality steak. I would of normally recommended to people but my last visit has changed that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belso73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    354
    185
    85
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my husband visted the Manchester Gaucho for the first time and were amazed at the interior where the main resturant is as it used to be in a church.

The food as always was great - cannot fault Gaucho steak!

The staff were all very attentive and helpful expect for the end when we wanted to pay there was no one around to ask!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thsi was a birthday treat for my husband.
I asked for a table were we could sit side by side rather than opposite if possible, they did.
We both had the Ribeye and I can honestly say it was the best steak we have ever had in a restaurant. Really really good.
The only down side.....wine is a bit pricey. But other than that, great place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotelswerehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a fantastic place! Lovely decor, set in an old church with some of the original features.
Attentive staff and amazing steaks. What more could you ask for? Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovegoodholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant for a special treat”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited here on a Thursday evening at 7.30pm. The decor is lovely and very impressive with the chandeliers and massive organ on the wall. The service was good, only once did I have to ask for a refill of drinks. The food was also very nice and it was good to see the different cuts of meat before ordering, along with how each of them should be cooked. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion (we spent £90 on a starter, 2 mains, 3 sides and 3 apple juices).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekirby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gaucho Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing